Its Monday! What are you Reading? (17th June)

17 Jun

0

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held on Book Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

I have been absent from this meme for over a month because I have quit my job. I was sick and tired of being harrassed at work and the company doing nothing about it. I am so stressed out with not having a job that I’m making myself ill with it all :(

Books Read

I’ve read one book in the last week, The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber. Although it has taken me nearly a month to finish I’ve really enjoyed it and although its a pretty huge book I would recommend that everyone reads it.

b9b9f-the2bcrimson2bpetal2band2bthe2bwhite

Reading Now

I’m currently reading Avery Nolan: Private Dick of the Dead by Tony Faville on my Kindle. Its a free book that I downloaded when I first got my kindle and its ok, but nothing brilliant. I’m over halfway through and I will finish it though!

Reading Next

Next up is a book that I got sent from the publishers, Brothers Fury by Giles Kristian. This book sounds very good and I cant wait to start it!

Synopsis -

Rebel Cast out from his home, rejected by his family, Tom Rivers returns to his regiment. But his commander believes the young hothead’s recklessness and contempt for authority has no place in his troop. But to a spymaster like Captain Crafte, Tom’s dark and fearless nature is in itself a weapon to be turned upon the hated Cavaliers – who else would dare to infiltrate Oxford, now the Royalist capital, to destroy the King’s printing press and strike a blow at the very heart of the enemy?

 

Renegade Raw with grief at the death of his father, Edmund Rivers rejects the peace talks between Parliament and the King. He chooses instead to lead a hardened band of marauders across the moors, appearing out of the frozen world to fall on unsuspecting rebel columns like wolves. But Prince Rupert – recognising in Mun a fellow child of war – has other plans for him, from stealing a colossal gun, to tunneling beneath the walls of Lichfield. The only peace the enemy will get from Mun Rivers is that of the grave.

 

Huntress Her heart broken following the deaths of her beloved Emmanuel and her father, Bess Rivers takes the hardest decision of her life: to leave her new-born son and depart Sheer House in search of tghe one person who might help her re-unite what is left of her broken family. Risking her own life on the road, Bess will do whatever it takes to find her brother Tom and secure his Royal pardon, but can she douse the flames of her brothers’ fury and see them reconciled?

 

6 Responses to “Its Monday! What are you Reading? (17th June)”

  1. Kathy Martin June 17, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    I am sorry about your job situation. I hope you find a new one soon. The books you are reading look good. Come see my Monday Report here. Happy reading!

    • shelovestoread June 19, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      Thank you. Now popping over to look at your books :)

  2. laurelrainsnow June 17, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

    I hope you enjoy all the books on your list…they are new to me. Sorry your job was so problematic…hope things improve in the next one.

    Here’s MY MONDAY READING POST

  3. Jamie June 19, 2013 at 8:45 am #

    Brothers Fury sounds like it will be an interesting read. Hope you enjoy!
    Here is my Monday .

    • shelovestoread June 19, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

      thank you, now going over to check your books out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

