Its Monday! What are you Reading? (8th July)

8 Jul

0

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held on Book Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

Books Read

This is the first week that I have managed to read more than one book in a week for a long  long time! The first book I read was Brothers Fury by Giles Kristian. I got sent this from the publishers and it is set in the English Civil War. It is the second book in a series but have not yet read the first, something I will be sorting out very soon! I really enjoyed the book and I’m hoping that there are more in the series as it ends on rather a big cliff hanger.

 

 

 

I am currrently reading Mistress of the Sea by Jenny Barden. I got sent this book by the publishers too and I only started it last night so I am hoping that its going to be good. Its a book about sailing to the new world so it does sound very good!

Up Next

Next up is a book from my kindle one that I downloaded a long time ago but have never started, A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. I have never read a Dickens book, much to my shame but hopefully I’ll end up loving it.

Synopsis – “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times”, “It is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known” – so the novel begins and ends with  some of Dicken’s best-known words, and between the two is every Briton’s view of  the worst excesses of the French Revolution.

3 Responses to “Its Monday! What are you Reading? (8th July)”

  1. cricketmuse July 8, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    I have stopped reading two books this week, due in part having finished the most excellent My Antonia by Willa Cather. I having skimming through Leonardo da Vinci’s Notebooks. Fascinating stuff, but not exactly summer hammock reading. Oh, for a really enthralling cozy mystery series.

  2. Holly Mueller July 8, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    I should read A Tale of Two Cities again – I don’t remember much of it! l love the cover of that edition!

  3. Rita (My Home of Books) July 8, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    Mistress of the Sea looks interesting for me. Oh, Tale of Two Cities! My favorite Dickens alongside A Christmas Carol. You will surely enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

