Handle With Care – Jodi Picoult

7 Jan

Synopsis – Charlotte O’Keefe’s beautiful, much-longed-for, adored daughter Willow is born with osteogenesis imperfecta – a very severe form of brittle bone disease. If she slips on a crisp packet she could break both her legs, and spend six months in a half body cast. After years of caring for Willow, her family faces financial disaster. Then Charlotte is offered a lifeline. She could sue her obstetrician for wrongful birth – for not having diagnosed Willow’s condition early enough in the pregnancy to be able to abort the child. The payout could secure Willow’s future. But to get it would mean Charlotte suing her best friend. And standing up in court to declare that she would have prefered that Willow had never been born…

My Thoughts – This is the second Jodi Picoult book that i have read, in quite quick succession, the first was My Sisters Keeper. I really enjoyed this book, however i did find it a little simular to the previous book that i had read. This book has a very thought provoking plotline, both in the debate of Willow, and also in the thread of Marian’s search for her birth mother. I found the part of the trial very interesting to read about, also the section at the back of the book about the condition OI. This book really made me think and i could not put it down at times.
The only part i didnt like was MAJOR SPOILER ALERT
When Willow died. I personally didnt think the character should have died, considering that they won millions on the lawsuit.
This is a book that i would highly recommend to anyone.

Rating –  8/10

2 Responses to “Handle With Care – Jodi Picoult”

  1. Mikaela January 7, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    I think most of Jodi Picoult’s books make a great read for the sappy girl, which I am. Though Willow dying made me cry, I do think it added some additional reality. Did you cry when you read My Sister’s Keeper? The man on the plane next to me thought I was crazy I am sure. I bawled like a baby.

  2. shelovestoread January 8, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Yeah i cried at My Sisters Keeper! i was at home though, but did get some odd looks!

Leave a Reply

