Musing Mondays 17th Jan

17 Jan

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme held over on Should be Reading. To play along just answer the following question.

Do you prefer deep, intellectual, “meaty” books… or light, “fluffy” books? Why? Give us an example of your preferred type of book?

if you had asked me this a year ago i would have said ‘chick lit’. i was really into it and went mad buying lots of chick lit. For example books from Jill Mansell, Jodi Picoult, Shelia O Flanngan, Cecelia Ahern etc. Because i liked this type of book i went out and brought loads of them, hence the ammount of them on my shelf.

However now im getting quite sick of them because alot of them are quite samey, so i have been buying more books that i think will challenge me, for example To Kill A Mockingbird, which i absolutly loved!

At the start of the year all i have read is chick lit. I am trying to get through as many as i can so i can move onto some books that can really challenge me.

14 Responses to “Musing Mondays 17th Jan”

  1. MizB January 17, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Okay, admittedly, I liked Jill Mansell’s book that I read, last year. Forgot that her book was kind of in the chick lit category. 😉

    But, I’ve totally “burned out” on a genre before, so I understand what you’re saying here. Definitely time to move on. 😀

    ~MizB

    • shelovestoread January 17, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      Jill Mansell’s books are probably one of the only books that i could read again and again, but i definitaly need a new genre!

  2. Marie January 17, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    😀 if you need any ideas for literary fiction it’s what i do some come visit! 😀

  3. caite@a lovely shore breeze January 17, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    hmmm…I’m not a chick lit fan.
    I like to stay right in the middle, not too meaty and not too fluffy. Yes, it should be fun, but I still need a bit of a challenge.

    • shelovestoread January 17, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      i think ive overdone on fluff lately and need more of a challenge!

  4. Gigi Ann January 17, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    I read To Kill A Mockingbird in 2010, also. I did enjoy it, not to light and not to meaty. Sometimes my brain is like a marshmellow and doesn’t want meat, all it wants is a snack.

    • shelovestoread January 17, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

      This was actually my favourite read of last year!

  5. laurelrainsnow January 17, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    I actually don’t consider Jodi Picoult in the chick lit category because she writes about issues…

    Jill Mansell would definitely be chick lit.

    Here’s my post:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2011/01/17/musing-mondays-meaty-or-fluffy-jan-17/

    • shelovestoread January 17, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      I dont supose Jodi picoult is really chick lit but its quite a simular genre to what i keep on reading!

  6. Stephanie (Book Love Blog) January 17, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I like the fluff, but I can’t necessarily read mindless. I like entertainment.

    Here is my Monday Musing.

    • shelovestoread January 17, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

      Yeah, if i can find a book thats entertaining fluff thats always good 😀 but i must start to read some more books that arent just full of fluff!

  7. Lori January 17, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    I like a nice balance. I don’t like heavy, but I like meaty…I don’t like pointless, but I like fluffy. Check out my answer for this weeks Monday Musing.

    • shelovestoread January 17, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

      I have to say I’ve not yet come across a pointless book, sounds like you have though!

Leave a Reply

