Musing Mondays (7th Feb)

7 Feb

This weeks musing asks,

How do you react to the “book police”? (people who judge what you are reading, and try to make you feel guilty) Do you respond to their judgements? Or, do you keep quiet? Do you let what they say influence your reading, or do you do your own thing, regardless?

i get quite a lot of critism because i tend to read a lot of chick lit. A lot of people see these as not ‘proper’ books. For me, its up to me what i read and what i enjoy. If i enjoy a book, i enjoy it. For me, everyone has different opinions on the books and the world would be a boring place if we all liked the same.

I will let people influence my reading, by the way of recommendations, but if people tell me that its a rubbish book, i will read it because its what i want to do!

4 Responses to “Musing Mondays (7th Feb)”

  1. Gigi Ann February 7, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    I also read chick-lit, but I don’t care what others say, I feel we can all read what we enjoy, that is why there are so many genres to choose from. I think I am my own book police.

  2. bluestockingbb February 7, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    I’ll be answering this question next week. I tend to be a lot more confrontational.

    Last week’s answer

  3. Lori February 7, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    This was a good topic and people are dumbassess. Personally, I don’t care what people think about what I read. Check out my answer for this week’s Monday Musing.

  4. caite@a lovely shore breeze February 7, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    I just love when people are reading anything, because lets face it, most people don’t read.
    at all.

Leave a Reply

