The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien

4 Jun

Challenges – BBC Top 200 Books
1001 books you must read
1001 Childrens Books you must read
Ultimate Teen Book Guide Challenge

Synopsis –  The Hobbit is a tale of high adventure, undertaken by a company of dwarves in search of dragon-guarded gold. A reluctant partner in this perilous quest is Bilbo Baggins, a comfort-loving unambitious hobbit, who surprises even himself by his resourcefulness and skill as a burglar. Encounters with trolls, goblins, dwarves, elves and giant spiders, conversations with the dragon, Smaug, and a rather unwilling presence at the Battle of Five Armies are just some of the adventures that befall Bilbo. Bilbo Baggins has taken his place among the ranks of the immortals of children’s fiction. Written by Professor Tolkien for his own children, The Hobbit met with instant critical acclaim when published.

My Thoughts – I had never read this book as a child, and im kind of wishing that i had now. Im a fan of Lord of the Rings, but im only just getting round to reading the books, some kind of sin i know! I read The Hobbit first and i really enjoyed it. It was very easy to read, and once i picked it up i found it very difficult to put down again! The world that Tolkein has created is so complex and almost beautiful, i can’t understand how one person can create such a world. It almost felt as though it was real, just how it was written! A fabulous book to read and would recommend it to anyone, young or old. i would have definitaly read this book, its just a coincidence just how many reading challenges that this book is on!

Rating – 5/5

3 Responses to “The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien”

  1. actaggart June 4, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    I never read this either, although I got it as a gift when I was really young. I think I was too young though, because I found it difficult to read and never got around to finishing it. It’s high up on my reading list now, though! Thanks for your post!

    • shelovestoread June 5, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

      Yay 😀 its a definate must read in my opinion! Even now im still wondering how i missed this one when i was young!

  2. beckyday6 November 30, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    The Hobbit is one of my all time favorite books! I love it, and I can’t wait for the movie to be released!

Leave a Reply

