The Secret Garden – Francis Hodgson Burnett

15 Jun

Challenges – bbc top 200 books
1001 childrens books
Ultimate Teen Book Guide
501 must read books

Synopsis – Mary Lennox was horrid. Selfish and spoilt, she was sent to stay with her hunchback uncle in Yorkshire. She hated it. But when she finds the way into a secret garden and begins to tend it, a change comes over her and her life. She meets and befriends a local boy, the talented Dickon, and comes across her sickly cousin Colin who had been kept hidden from her. Between them, the three children work astonishing magic in themselves and those around them.

My Thoughts – This was a re-read of a much loved classic for me. I loved this book when i was younger, it to me was just like magic. And reading it again now that im older has not got rid of any of the magic for me. I love the little story, it is hard to believe that it is 100 years old. it is fully readable and should be a must read for anybody!

Rating 5/5

3 Responses to “The Secret Garden – Francis Hodgson Burnett”

  1. eliza keating June 15, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    How strange ,I loved this story as a little girl ..and picked it up today for a gift for another little girl ..so was delighted to come across this..will definetly read it again before handing it over ..thank you..ELiza Keating

  2. Sandy M. June 16, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    I loved this when I was young, also… along with A Little Princess, and Ballet Shoes. Have you read those (I mean, back-when, of course).

  3. hemp June 30, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    reading this knows Im biased I am a big scriptwriter when it comes to . in McCabes hands this is a genuinely fun book to read as entertaining .

Leave a Reply

