Booking Through Thursday – History

25 Aug

Sometimes I feel like the only person I know who finds reading history fascinating. It’s so full of amazing-yet-true stories of people driven to the edge and how they reacted to it. I keep telling friends that a good history book (as opposed to some of those textbooks in school that are all lists and dates) does everything a good novel does–it grips you with real characters doing amazing things.

Am I REALLY the only person who feels this way? When is the last time you read a history book? Historical biography? You know, something that took place in the past but was REAL.

 

I haven’t read that much about history this year, but this time last year i read loads about one topic in particular, The Second World War and The Battle of Britain. This is my favourite point in history, alothough as my Grandad points out, to some people this wasnt history, this was life for them! I do love reading true life history books its really amazing to think that these events happened, it wasnt just a story that someone has made up!

10 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – History”

  1. Vicki August 25, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    What your Granddad said is so true. For some reason, seeing it written down makes it more real. You might have just made me more interested in reading fact based historical books.
    Here’s Mine

    • shelovestoread August 26, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

      yay for reading some more history books 😀 i dont read them all that often but they are so good for popping in and out of!

  2. mary Ann Langan August 25, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I like both true History and historical fiction.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/08/booking-through-thursday_25.html

  3. smellincoffee August 25, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Have you read “With Wings like Eagles”? I read it a few weeks back. It focuses solely on the Battle of Britain, and I think it fantastic.

    http://thisweekatthelibrary.blogspot.com/2011/02/with-wings-like-eagles.html

    • shelovestoread August 26, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

      thanks for the recommendation, have added it to my wishlist!

  4. Áine August 25, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    I do enjoy some but I just can’t do most WWII stuff…; I end up angry or sick thanks to Nazi stuff.

    Here’s Mine: House Millar – BTT

    Aine

    • shelovestoread August 26, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

      each to their own period of history! It would be boring if we all liked the same thing!

  5. Rachel August 26, 2011 at 2:19 am #

    It’s quite funny. I hated History at school. Couldn’t wait to leave it behind as I found it so boring. But now? I’m fascinated by history. I mainly love learning about the history of countries and I think that’s where the realisation hit, now I can research and learn about the parts of history that most interest me, parts that actually affect places I have lived or visited. At school there was no context, no way to relate it to your own life.

    • shelovestoread August 26, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

      i wasnt to keen at school either, i think its the thing of having to study what the school said, even if you didnt enjoy that period of history!

Leave a Reply

