Its Monday! What are you Reading? (12th September)

12 Sep

Its Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly meme held over on Book Journey. Its a brilliant weekly bookish meme were book bloggers and readers gather together to discuss the reading week.

Right, firstly, i am better! 🙂 🙂 it has almost took a whole week but im back to normal! (or normal as i ever was) I didnt have a great reading week last week due to me feeling so ill, but im determined to make up for it this week!

Books Read

I only finished on book last week, but what a book! it was Caligula by Douglas Jackson and its fantastic! It centres on a roman slave called Rufus and his life during Roman times. If you get a chance to read it do! I was sent this book as part of The Transworld Book Group Reading Challenge and i’m so pleased that i picked it! Oh and its part of a series too so im going to get the next book soon!

Reading Now

I’ve finally got around to reading My Fabulous Divorce by Clare Dowling. I have had this next on my TBR pile for the last three weeks and I’m glad ive finally got around to it! I’m not that far into but to start with it didnt start too good, but its now picked up, so i’m hoping that it turns out to be a really good book!

Reading Next

I have a choice of two again! if my next book for The Transworld Book group arrives i will read that but if not i will be reading the next book off my TBR pile, which is Victoria Line, Central Line, by Maeve Binchy. I’ve not read any of her books before, but ive heard she is a good author, so im going to give it a go!

Books Brought

Just the one book brought this week and i have to say its the most beautiful book ive ever seen. Its Popco by Scarlett Thomas and not only is the cover lovely, the edges of the book are blue! never seen that before!

Hope everyone has a good reading week 🙂

6 Responses to “Its Monday! What are you Reading? (12th September)”

  1. Chrissie (Once Upon a Series) September 12, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I hope you manage to read lots more fantastic books this week now you are feeling better 🙂

    I haven’t heard of Caligula before but it certainly sounds very interesting! I may have to add it to my wishlist!

    • shelovestoread September 13, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 Caligula is a brilliant book 🙂

      p.s. i love the title of your blog!

  2. Joy Weese Moll September 13, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    Glad you’re feeling better. A book with blue-edged pages sounds very cool!

    • shelovestoread September 13, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 it is indeed, never seen one before!

  3. Rachel September 13, 2011 at 5:02 am #

    I want to say that I have read a Maeve Binchy book but to be honest I’m not sure if I have. I know I have Nights of Rain and Stairs on my shelf but besides that I’m not sure. I read another book by Scarlett Thomas called The End of My Y which also had the same illustrated gorgeous cover but in red and the page edges were black. It was very impressive. Oh and the story was good too 🙂

    • shelovestoread September 13, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

      Hmm, well i shall give the next book a try and hopefully i shall like it!

      I’m going to have a look at other books with the coloured edging!

Leave a Reply

