My Fabulous Divorce – Clare Dowling

17 Sep

Synopsis – Jackie Ball knows that happiness is hard to find, so when Dan Lewis jogs into her life with his skin-tight shorts and sexy smile things start to look up. One night he presents Jackie with a diamond ring and suggests he trade in his BMW for a people carrier. But there’s a fly in the ointment – her first husband Henry. As far as Jackie’s concerned, their marriage is well and truly over, so she engages the services of a solicitor and sets about moving on.

But Henry has some old scores to settle and the divorce papers hitting the dog-haired mat are just the excuse he needs. It’s not that he still loves her, but Jackie walked out on him without even leaving a note and now he wants to know why…
My Thoughts – This is the second Clare Dowling book that i have read and i have to say i enjoyed this one a lot more than the first (Going it alone) The plot centres on Jackie who is trying to divorce her first husband to marry her second. The plot is fairly obvious to what will happen, but as a chick lit book that is what you would expect. Their was a secondary plot with Jackies family that i didnt think really needed to be in their, but the rest of the book was good, Once i picked it up it was quite difficult to put down, i was in the need for an easy book to read that didnt require to much thinking and that was what a got. A light read, a good chick lit book, not one that i would read again, but good at the time.

Rating – 3.5/5

6 Responses to “My Fabulous Divorce – Clare Dowling”

  1. bookishandproud September 17, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    i read this book almost two years ago. I bought this book and started reading it. I enjoyed it and finished it and like it, but somehow there’s always something missing in clare dowling’s books; cant point it out but i wouldnt want to reread this book again.

    And like you said, its a typical predictable chick lit =) but an enjoyable one nonetheless.

    • shelovestoread September 17, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Yeah i know what you mean, its enjoyable but their is something missing!

  2. whatyouareisbeautifulx September 18, 2011 at 4:29 am #

    Hi there! I just happened to come across your blog when I was looking for book lists, and I knew I just had to leave a comment. I’m so inspired by your desire to read all these books, and it’s been what I’ve been trying to get into (though things are pretty hectic right now!). So, I have followed your blog, and would love to know how you find all of the book lists and everything? Or if there are any other blogs you would suggest? I’m Tiffany, by the way :]

    • shelovestoread September 19, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      Hi Tiffany 🙂 I basically just came across all these book lists just browsing the internet. If you want a good website try goodreads.com i found a couple of my reading challenge lists on there! I have a pretty hectic life too, but i just fit my reading in when i can. I’m under no illusion that I’m going to complete these challenges anytime soon, but its definitaly a long term goal for me 🙂 i’ve followed you back and id love to see what books you plan to read 🙂

  3. whatyouareisbeautifulx September 20, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    Oh great, thank you! I actually got a GoodReads account a couple of weeks ago when I discovered it, so I will definitely go see what I can find. I find it so great that you have so many challenges and you’re doing so much reading! I hope I can get into doing it again. Thank you for taking the time to comment me back, and thank you for the follow. 😀

    • shelovestoread September 20, 2011 at 9:26 am #

      I do sooo much reading, mainly because i dont do all that much else! Seriously though, i am slightly addicted to reading challenges too!

      I love comments so keep them coming! hehe!

Leave a Reply

