Victoria Line, Central Line – Maeve Binchy

23 Sep

Synopsis – At Notting Hill, a mysterious secretary harbours a secret on her journey to work; at Highbury and Islington, a young man has a sudden change of heart; while at Holborn, a disastrous reunion is about to take place…

From Green Park to Brixton, Shepherd’s Bush to Chancery Lane, the nameless faces travelling on the Tube each have their own tales to tell. In this vintage collection of stories, Maeve Binchy brings this cross-section of London society vividly to life with her unforgettable humour and compassion.

My Thoughts – This book was more like a collection of short stories than an actual novel, which i suppose in a way its true. Each chapter was a different story, just with one simple theme running through the chapter, the use of the tube in London. I really really enjoyed this book, I’m not normally a fan of short stories, but this theme actually worked for me. I would love to know if any of the stories had been carried on, a couple of the short stories would work well as full novels. This is the first Maeve Binchy Book i have read, and i would definitaly read more. i would actually read more in this format too, a real good book that has opened my mind up to more possiblities of reading 🙂

Rating 4/5

2 Responses to “Victoria Line, Central Line – Maeve Binchy”

  1. Rachel September 28, 2011 at 4:40 am #

    This sounds great. I moved from London back home to NZ a year ago but I still feel rather nostalgic for my life in London. This sounds like the perfect read for a quick London fix 🙂

    • shelovestoread September 28, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

      Its a really good book, its got a real London feel about it! And you live in NZ? I’m very Jelous hehe!

Leave a comment