A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving

19 Oct

Challenges – Wordshakers online book club
BBC Top 200 Books
1001 Books You Must Read
Ultimate Teen Book Guide Challenge
The New Classics Challenge

Synopsis – ‘If you care about something you have to protect it. If you’re lucky enough to find a way of life you love, you have to find the courage to live it.’

Eleven-year-old Owen Meany, playing in a Little League baseball game in Gravesend, New Hampshire, hits a foul ball and kills his best friend’s mother. Owen doesn’t believe in accidents; he believes he is God’s instrument. What happens to Owen after that 1953 foul ball is both extraordinary and terrifying.

My Thoughts – i was originaly really looking forward to reading the book as it sounded so good and was on so many booklists! Well it must be good then! But unfortunatly, it just wasnt a book for me. I didnt like how it jumped backwards and forwards in the narrators life, i was interested in the childhood side, but towards the end i was actually skipping his adult life parts, i also found it confusing with the timeline. Also, my main bugbear with the book i had was everytime Owen Meany spoke, it was in capitals. I really struggle to read in capitals I’m not sure if it is just me or weather it bothers other people but this really really really put me off!

The book was interesting at the begining, I was overwelmed that a friendship could survive an event, even make it stronger. The book deals with all sorts, love, hate, death, life, war, politics, real life events and lots of others.

This book does make you think, and maybe i would have enjoyed it more at a different time, but if you can handle a heavy book, then this is for you.

Rating – 2/5

 

2 Responses to “A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving”

  1. Pat Dreadful October 19, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Nice review! I personally visit this book as the holidays get closer (maybe due to the whole Christmas play incident) and it never fails to touch me in a profound way. I’d strongly encourage you to give it another try at some point in the future.

    • shelovestoread October 19, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 i might give it another go when i havent got so much going on in my life!

      I did like the Christmas bit though!

Leave a Reply

