Booking Through Thursday – Vacation

20 Oct

 

I’m on vacation this week. I didn’t go anywhere exciting or exotic, I’m just not at work. Spending time puttering around the house, playing with the dog and … oh yeah. Reading. A lot.

Do your reading habits change when you’re on vacation? Do you read more? Do you indulge in lighter, fluffier books than you usually read? Do you save up special books so you’ll be able to spend real vacation time with them? Or do you just read the same old stuff, vacation or not?

 

Well first, that is my favourite type of holiday, not going anywhere, just chilling and reading, absolutly perfect!

I read so much more when I’m on holiday, probably because i can read before getting out of bed,in the morning, whenever i like, because i am not rushing around like a mad woman, and as I’m less tired in the evening, i can just read all i like!

Now onto what i read. I don’t change what i read because i have a ‘reading system’. Everytime i buy a book it goes onto the bottom of my TBR pile. And stays their until it works its way around to the top of the pile. This is so i read books i brought a while ago and they dont stay on the shelf gathering dust! Also this encourages me to buy less books too.

So while my reading material doesnt change while I’m on holiday, the ammount i read does!

20 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Vacation”

  1. Lady Kell of Kincavel October 20, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post. 🙂

  2. Vicky @ Books, Biscuits & Tea October 20, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    I agree, I read much more but my reading material doesn’t change 🙂
    Here’s mine:
    http://booksbiscuitsandtea.blogspot.com/2011/10/booking-through-thursday-4.html
    xxx

    • shelovestoread October 21, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      always lovely to get the chance to read more 🙂

  3. Palm Trees & Bare Feet October 20, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    I like your idea of a “TBR pile”! I usually have a stack of books to be read and just close my eyes and pick one at random!

    Here’s my BTT:
    http://palmtreesbarefeet.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/booking-through-thursday-vacation/

    • shelovestoread October 21, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      I have around 250 books on my TBR pile, so i do it like that to get through them hehe!

  4. Claire October 20, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Wow! Your reading systems sounds like a great idea. I’ve got loads of books on my to be read pile but I pick them by what I feel like, not how long I’ve had them. Some get read quickly, others take years.

    My BTT post is here if you’d like a look 🙂

    • shelovestoread October 21, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

      I’d love to do that, but i know that i would have so many unread books sitting for years!

  5. PATRICIA (@PJIDDY530) October 20, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    you’re reading system sound nice – but i don’t think i could do it! i always almost read the most recent purchase i have available and my other books sit gathering dust!

    Trish – My BTT Post

    • shelovestoread October 21, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

      Thats why i do it this way, so each book does get a read, otherwise i would never read some of my books!

  6. Kirsten Mortensen October 20, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Oh my, you are much more organized (oops should that be “organised”?) than I am! My books are scattered all over, and now I have a Kindle so I end up browsing the titles I’ve downloaded to that, too, and reading whatever strikes my fancy at the moment. Chaos! LOL

    • shelovestoread October 21, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

      hehe! I’m debating weather to Kindle or not! i know it will cut down on space, but will i be able to or not? hehe

  7. DawnTreader October 20, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    You’ll find my reflections here Can’t brag about being all that disciplined about what to read in which order unless there is some special reason.

    • shelovestoread October 21, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

      hehe, I’m not disciplined, just a bit weird hehe 🙂

  8. reading rendezvous reviewz October 20, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    stopping by to see what your reading is like on vacation.
    http://sidnebkclubreviewz.blogspot.com

  9. Tea Time with Marce October 20, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    I am so impressed with your TBR system. Do you ever get in the mood to choose the 2nd one instead of the one on the top at time?

    I also like when waking up on vacation you can read before doing anything else.

    My BTT

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2011/10/booking-through-thursday-reading-habits.html

    • shelovestoread October 21, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

      Yeah sometimes i do, but i can always look forward to the next book if I’m not enjoying the book i’m reading!

Leave a Reply

