Booking Through Thursday – Harder

3 Nov

All other thing being equal, would you rather read a book that’s hard/challenging/rewarding or light/enjoyable/easy?

I would really have to say it would depend on my mood. I read a lot of different genres of books and a lot of the time it depends on my mood and what other things i have going on in my life.

Hard – I do feel very intimidated by hard books, but i always want to give them a go. I think its better to read hard books when i have nothing else going on in life and can give a book my full attention.

Challenging – I do think hard and challenging are very simular. The only difference i can think of is the subject matter. Sometimes if i read a challenging book, i need to be able to give it my full attention too.

Rewarding or light – i brought a lot of chick lit books as i found them very light reading and rewarding, and im still getting through them now. I do think its nice sometimes to read a light book, but i personally find if i read too many in a row it can get a bit mind numbing!

Enjoyable – I would hope to think most books i read are enjoyable! I tend to now give up on a book if its not enjoyable, and give it another go later on, or read it in small chunks! I think too many people read books because other people found them enjoyable, so feel like they have to enjoy them too.

Easy – Easy books to me are childrens books. Old favourites to me are Enid Blyton books, very easy to read, but at the same time not dull!

So i think really i read all of these types of books, but i would rather read an enjoyable book!

14 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Harder”

  1. Lady Kell of Kincavel November 3, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    I think my answer is similar to yours. πŸ˜‰

    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post. πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread November 7, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

      Indeed, they do seem quite simular πŸ˜›

      happy reading πŸ™‚

  2. Claire November 3, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    I definitely agree about only reading books you find enjoyable. Life’s too short to read books that don’t appeal to you.

    My BTT is here if you’d like a look πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread November 7, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

      I think it really puts your reading into a slump too when you read books that you dont enjoy!

  3. Melissa Brinkley November 3, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    It is all about the enjoyment, after all, isn’t it?

  4. House Millar November 3, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    I’m noticing a lot of ‘mood’ answers already. πŸ™‚
    Great site BTW

    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday ~ House Millar series

    Aine

    • shelovestoread November 7, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

      I think that many peoples answers will be on the mood theme.

      and thanks πŸ™‚

  5. Palm Trees & Bare Feet November 3, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Yes, I agree that it has to depend on the mood you’re in. Sometimes I want an easy read, other times maybe I want my brain to be challenged.

    • shelovestoread November 7, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

      i personally prefer reading lighter books after i have read a heavier book!

  6. Tippie November 4, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    I like how you broke down what you like in each category! I agree a lot with your many points. What mood you are in is definitely a huge factor! πŸ™‚

    http://tippiesbookcorner.blogspot.com/2011/11/booking-through-thursday-harder.html

    • shelovestoread November 7, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

      Thanks πŸ™‚ felt like doing it a little different this week!

      happy reading πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

