Its Monday! What are you Reading? 7th November

7 Nov

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly meme held over on Book Journey.

I’ve had a hugely busy week this week, my boyfriend has moved house and has been off work so ive been spending all my available time with him until he started his new job!

Books Read

I read just the one book last week, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie. I read this for the November reading circle over on the BCF. I really enjoyed this book, this my my first by this author and i will definitaly be reading more! i didnt even guess who the murderer was either!

Reading Now

I’m currently reading My Best Friends Girl by Dorothy Koomson. I read half of this book in one sitting yesterday, its such a sad book, it had me sobbing, but at the same time its very good.

Reading Next

The next book off my massive TBR pile is Remember Me by Sophie Kinsella. I’ve never read a book by this author but have heard that they are really good.

Books Brought

Just the one book this week, Howards End is on the Landing by Susan Hill. It has been on my wishlist for the last year or so and i was hooked by the synopsis.

Early one autumn afternoon in pursuit of an elusive book on her shelves, Susan Hill encountered dozens of others that she had never read, or forgotten she owned, or wanted to read for a second time. The discovery inspired her to embark on a year-long voyage through her books, forsaking new purchases in order to get to know her own collection again. A book which is left on a shelf for a decade is a dead thing, but it is also a chrysalis, packed with the potential to burst into new life. Wandering through her house that day, Hill’s eyes were opened to how much of that life was stored in her home, neglected for years. Howard’s End is on the Landing charts the journey of one of the nation’s most accomplished authors as she revisits the conversations, libraries and bookshelves of the past that have informed a lifetime of reading and writing.

Happy reading week everyone πŸ™‚

 

10 Responses to “Its Monday! What are you Reading? 7th November”

  1. Tea Time with Marce November 7, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    My best friends girl sounds so good, I love the emotional reads.

    Enjoy your time with your boyfriend and good luck to him with the new job.

    My Post

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2011/11/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-this-is.html

    • shelovestoread November 7, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

      Thanks πŸ™‚ its a bit odd not seeing him at the minute, so im going to curl up with my book soon πŸ™‚

  2. Lah November 7, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    OH yes! I’ve been curious about Sophie Kinsella books as well! Happy reading πŸ™‚

    xo,
    Lah @ LazyGirl Reads

    • shelovestoread November 7, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

      I have several on my TBR mountain so I’m hoping i like them!

  3. Chrissie (Once Upon a Series) November 7, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Oh, I loved My Best Friend’s Girl but it is a very emotional book. I think I did spend quite a bit of time sobbing through that one!

    • shelovestoread November 7, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

      Its not a book to read in public if you get what i mean!

  4. Lindsey November 8, 2011 at 1:48 am #

    Howard’s End Is on the Landing sounds wonderful. Don’t you love books about books?

    • shelovestoread November 8, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      I do indeed, i have rather a bad habit of buying the books listed in the books too!

  5. Rachel November 21, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    I have been really good and haven’t bought any books for awhile except for a few as Christmas presents for others. Enjoy your reading this week.

    • shelovestoread November 21, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      Yay πŸ™‚ thats good. am thinking about lots of books as presents this year πŸ™‚

      Enjoy your reading too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

