Booking Through Thursday – E-volution

10 Nov

E-readers like the Kindle and iPad are sweeping the nation … do you have one? Do you like it? Do you find it changes your reading/buying habits? If you don’t have one, do you plan to?

 

I don’t have an E-reader, Kindle or iPad. I have alwways said i would never ever have one, but I’m kind of changing my mind a little. So heres the arguements for and against.

Why I should not have an e-reader.

  1. Its not the same as a proper book. I like the feel of a paper book in mt hand, the smell of a new book, the weight of a book.
  2. Damage. If i drop a paperback book on the floor or in water, at worse i have only ruined a couple of pounds. If i drop a kindle, thats a lot of moneys worth down the drain.
  3. Cost. I buy a lot of my books second hand, a lot of the time at only £1 or two and e books are so expensive sometimes.
  4. Huge TBR pile. I have around 250 paper books already on my shelves. I think i need to read some of these before i consider a kindle.
  5. Batterys. A paper book never needs charging and never runs out. I willl need to charge a Kindle.
  6. Ease of downloading. I have to restrain myself buying music from I-tunes, so my poor bank will be crying!

Why I should have an e-reader

  1. Space. I have run out of space for books in my room. If i had an e-reader i could save on space.
  2. New Books. some new books are only published as an e-book. Sometimes i feel i am missing out on good books.
  3. Travel. i travel a lot. And i always have a book with me (or three!) it would be so much easier with anIpad.

So, i think at the minute i will stick to my paper books. But, in the future i will probably get one as well as having paper books, because for me, nothing could replace a paper book.

24 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – E-volution”

  1. Betty at Reflections with Coffee November 10, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    You make some very good points pro and con. What I like about my e-reader app is the ability to read/sample the first chapters before deciding to buy.

    • shelovestoread November 11, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 I missed that one off actually. That must be handy to have, because to often i have brought a book only to find out i dont like it!

  2. Dawn Treader November 10, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    I agree there is a lot to be said both for or against. One day I shall probably buy one but not quite yet.
    http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2011/11/btt-e-volution.html

    • shelovestoread November 11, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

      same, however if i was to get one as a gift, it would be quite nice 🙂

  3. Marianne Arkins November 10, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    I was one of the “I love the feel of a book in my hands” people and the “I’ll never switch to eBooks”…. but I’ve changed.

    My BTT is here.

    • shelovestoread November 11, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      I was very much on the negative side last year, maybe this time next year i may have one 🙂

  4. Lady Kell of Kincavel November 10, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    I feel similarly. I always vowed I’d never get one, but I’m kind of hoping for one soon…

    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post. 🙂

    • shelovestoread November 11, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      i think if i got one as a gift it would take the very difficult descision out of my hands! 😀

  5. mostraum November 10, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    That’s a nice summary. Good luck in deciding 🙂

  6. Tanya November 10, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    I might not get one for a long time since I get 99% of my books from the library. But I hadn’t even thought about when traveling – so much easier than lugging around a few books.

    • shelovestoread November 11, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

      i dont actually use my local libary, because it is rubbish! But because of this i have a huge tbr pile now!

  7. laurelrainsnow November 10, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    I probably still wouldn’t have one if not for Christmas…LOL

    But I’ve discovered a few nice things about Sparky, my Kindle. Here’s MY BTT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

    • shelovestoread November 11, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

      hehe, I’m secretly hoping for one for Christmas as i wont have to reach the desicion myself! i might even like it 🙂

  8. Rachel M. November 10, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    I can totally understand what you are saying. I have some of the same feelings about e-readers but I am really leaning towards getting one at some point.

    My response is at: http://rachelreader.blogspot.com/2011/11/booking-through-thursday-3.html

  9. GFBooksMom November 10, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    I love my Nook, ESPECIALLY for traveling. I don’t read on it all the time… a lot of times I just want to curl up with a good book (with all that entails) but for traveling…Nooks rock!! Here’s my BTT.

    • shelovestoread November 11, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

      I’ve not looked at Nooks, might have to have a little look at them!

  10. Nicole Langan November 10, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    I prefer reading the actual book, might make one a present though.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/11/booking-through-thursday_10.html

  11. Shannon's Book Blog November 10, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    I always said I would never get an e-reader. If I haven’t won one I probably never would have had one. They’ve definitely got their pros and cons. Convenient for travel, save loads of space and carry around more books at a time. However nothing can replace the feel of real books!

    heres my answer – http://eatupmyfreetime.wordpress.com/2011/11/10/e-volution/

    • shelovestoread November 11, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      I’m hoping that i might get a gift of one, to take the disision away from me!

  12. Cathy November 10, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    I have an ereader and love it but I still buy regular books too, so the best of both worlds I just buy the ones I really want. But I see your dilema, space was a definite plus. here’s my BTT

    • shelovestoread November 11, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

      I suppose, i sell a lot of my books on again, so i dont always have books with me for very long!

Leave a Reply

