Booking Through Thursday – Category

17 Nov

Of the books you own, what’s the biggest category/genre?

Is this also the category that you actually read the most?

 

If you had asked me this question this time last year it would have been easy. All i read and brought last year was Chick-Lit. I couldnt get enough of the stuff, and loved every book i picked up.

However, chick lit began to get a bit boring and i brought way to many chick lit books and i am quite bored of them now. So i have spent the best part of this year trying to get through them as quickly as i can do.

So, where does this leave me now. I feel like a whole new world has been opened up to me and i now have so many different genres to read on my shelves, i cant say i stick to just the one!

I have on my shelves, with examples;

  • Womans Fiction (Thanks for the Memories – Cecelia Ahern)
  • Chick Lit (Just Married – Zoe Barnes)
  • Childrens (Five on Kirren Island – Enid Blyton)
  • Non Fiction (I know Youve Got Soul – Clarkson)
  • Classics (David Copperfeild – Charles Dickens)
  • Fantasy (Witchfinder – William Hussey)
  • War/Conflict (Chris Ryan – Strikeback)
  • Sci-Fi (The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams)
  • Historical Fiction (The Other Boylen Girl – Phillipa Gregory)

so as you can see, i read a real mix of books now!

14 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Category”

  1. gautami tripathy November 17, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I have crime fiction everywhere!!

    Here is my BTT: category post!

    • shelovestoread November 21, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      I havent read much crime, i must try it a bit more πŸ˜€

  2. laurelrainsnow November 17, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    You have a nice eclectic mix of books! Thanks for sharing….

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  3. Briana November 17, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    All great genres! I like some sci-fi, but I wasn’t a fan of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy just because I didn’t like the type of humor. If you do, you’ll probably find it hilarious. Charles Dickens also wrote some good classics that you’ll probably find more accessible than Henry James.

    • shelovestoread November 21, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      I;ll definitaly give Hitchhikers a go, but i have heard a couple of people have been disappointed by it. I’m hoping I enjoy Dickens. I have read parts of A Christmas Carol and enjoyed that, so hopefully i will enjoy more πŸ™‚

  4. jaynesbooks November 17, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    What a great variety! Here is my answer.

    • shelovestoread November 21, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      Thanks, now going to look at your books πŸ˜€

  5. Nicole Langan November 17, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    I own a mixture of genres.

    here’s mine:

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/11/booking-through-thursday_17.html

    • shelovestoread November 21, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      yay πŸ˜€ another blogger with a mixture πŸ˜€

  6. Valentina November 17, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Nice mix of genres πŸ™‚

    Here’s mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/11/of-books-you-own-whats-biggest.html

    • shelovestoread November 21, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      Thanks πŸ™‚ i do like to mix it up. Now going to pop across and look at yours. πŸ™‚

  7. mostraum November 17, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I used to read a lot more crime than I do now, but it’s still on the shelves πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread November 21, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      Another person who is recommending crime, i must have a look at this genre a bit more πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

