Its Monday! What are you Reading? (21st Nov)

21 Nov

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held over on Book Journey.

I’ve had a rubbish reading week this week. I’m not really enjoying the book I’m reading, i want too, but I’m not quite getting there with it.

Books Read

I finished reading Remember Me? Sophie Kinsella last week. Now i have to say i was quite disappointed in this book as i had heard that Sophie Kinsellas books were brilliant, and i just didnt think that this was the case. It was a good enough story, but it just didnt jump out at me at all, and having finished it now really cannot think of much more to say on the subject.

Reading NowI am currently reading The Sweetest Taboo by Carole Matthews. I normally enjoy books by this author, but this one is really quite heavy going for me. Its chick lit, and about a girl who goes chasing to LA following a guy. I am halfway through and its taken me a week to get this far. I dont want to give up though.

Reading Next

I recieved a book in the post today as part of a book ring. Its Cuckoo by Julia Crouch. I cant wait to read this and hopefully this will spur me on to read my current book a bit more. Synopsis is;

Rose has it all – the gorgeous children, the husband, the beautiful home. But then her best friend Polly comes to stay. Very soon, Rose’s cosy world starts to fall apart at the seams – her baby falls dangerously ill, her husband is distracted – is Polly behind it all? It appears that once you invite Polly into your home, it’s very difficult to get her out again…

Books Brought

I got one book in the post this week that i didnt buy, and this was Cuckoo by Julia Crouch.

 

I need to read 10 more books by the end of the year to reach my reading goal. Its going to be hard i think, but hopefully i can do it!

 

12 Responses to “Its Monday! What are you Reading? (21st Nov)”

  1. Debbie Nance (@debnance) November 21, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    All new-to-me books! It’s always fun to find new books, so thank you!

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? I’d love to have you stop by!

    • shelovestoread November 22, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

      I love finding new books too 🙂 i have a huge wishlist of books just because i keep reading about them!

      Now going to pop over to yours 😀

  2. Tea Time with Marce November 21, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Amazon recommended Cuckoo to me, sounds interesting. 10 more books, I think you can do it 🙂

    • shelovestoread November 22, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      I think it sounds good, cant wait to get stuck into it. Its one of those books that i keep seeing about on the bloggisphere!

      I hope i can do it too, will be majorally annoyed if i dont!

  3. Leeswammes November 21, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Pity about the Kinsella book. I don’t know this one but The Undomestic Goddess by her is my favorite chick-lit. I love it!

    Have a great week!

    • shelovestoread November 22, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

      I’m not sure if i have The Undomestic Goddess or not, its familuar to me, but not sure if i own it, will keep a look out if not!

      Have a good week to you too 🙂

  4. Mardel November 22, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    LOL – I would stop reading the slower going book and go to the one that interests me ….then try the other again. But that’s why I’m sometimes reading five books at once! LOL

    Happy reading

    • shelovestoread November 22, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

      I did used to do that, but ended up with so many part read books that it was overwhelming. I’m over halfway through now so hopefully i may get it finished in the next couple of days!

  5. Sheila (Book Journey) November 22, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Cuckoo sounds really interesting! I look forward to your review!

    • shelovestoread November 22, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      It does indeed doesnt it! Hopefully i will get reading it soon 🙂

      have a good week 🙂

  6. Jen V. November 22, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    I love Sophie Kinsella! Remember Me? isn’t my favorite though. I love the Shop-A-Holic series and then after those Undomestic Goddess is hysterical!

    • shelovestoread November 22, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

      I have the first couple of the Shoppaholic series on my shelf so im hoping that its better than Remember me?

      Another person to recommend The Undomestic Goddess, really must look into that book

      have a good week 🙂

Leave a Reply

