The Sweetest Taboo – Carole Matthews

22 Nov

Synopsis – Falling in love isn’t easy. Sadie Nelson ought to know – she’s got two men to choose from and neither one is hassle-free. First there’s Gill McGann, a Hollywood producer who’s flown her from a grey day in London to sun-soaked LA in order to win her heart. He has more to offer Sadie than she could ever have imagined… Then there’s gorgeous actor Tavis Jones, whose sense of fun makes Sadie feel immediately at home. But can they ever be more than just good friends? The longer she leaves it, the harder it gets, and Sadie’s about to discover that in LA anything can happen…

My Thoughts – I have read other books by Carole Matthews and i was quite looking forward to this one, but i have to say i was a little disappointed by this book. The book focuses on Sadie, who goes chasing across to America after a man she has just met. However, things dont go as easily as she had hoped for. These include ex wives, new love intrests, fame, fortune, new friends and glamour.

I have to say, i just didnt find the plot all that believable. A woman goes across to America after a guy she met two days before and ends up with a place to stay and a job in the space of hours, despite not knowing anybody apart from said guy who flew here over to America. I also didnt like the twoing and froing of the relationship between the characters.

I did like the fact that it was told from different perspectives, and different opinions were brought in because of this. I did think some parts were funny too. I do normally like carole matthews style of writing, but i just dont think that this plot worked for me. I konw its chick lit, and its not meant to be thought prevoking or anything, but i was hoping for a little bit more!

I have several other Carole Matthews books on my shelf, so I’m hoping i enjoy those more than this book.

Rating – 2/5

4 Responses to “The Sweetest Taboo – Carole Matthews”

  1. TBM November 23, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Here’s to hoping that the others are better!

    • shelovestoread November 23, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

      Thanks 🙂

      I do hope they are better, i hate it when you really try to like a book and just cant!

      • TBM November 23, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

        I know. And I have a hard time putting a book down so that is even more frustrating. Reading a book that you are trying to convince yourself isn’t bad.

      • shelovestoread November 23, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

        Indeed, i sometimes wish i could make myself love certain books! hehe

Leave a Reply

