Booking Through Thursday – Mood Reading

1 Dec

Do you find that your mood affects the things you read? Like, if you’re in a bad mood, do you tend to indulge in reading that will support it or do you try to read things that will cheer you up? Do you pick different types of books on dreary, rainy days than you do on bright sunny ones?

For that matter, does your mood color what you’re reading, so that a funny book isn’t so funny or a serious one not so deep?

 

For me, my mood doesnt enhance what i read, it enhances how much i enjoy a book. I have a bit of a reading system (yes i am that strange!) so i dont really pick my next book.

My system is as follows.  When i get a new book it goes right to the bottom of my TBR pile, and moves along the shelves until it gets to the top. So, the book i read is always the one that has been on my shelf for the longest. Yes i am very weird for doing this, but this makes sure that i actually read the books that i have brought before, otherwise i would be wasting a lot of money.

So, back on topic. Because i dont pick my books depending on my mood, i find that sometimes i can get through a book quickly or slowly depending on my mood. If I’m a bit down i can take a little while to get into a book, and to get through it. Same with if I’m in a good mood, i can fly through a book!

19 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Mood Reading”

  1. Lady Kell of Kincavel December 1, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    I don’t think I’ve ever noticed…

    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post. 🙂

  2. beckyday6 December 1, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Oooh I like your system, that a good system….maybe I should do that, I’ve got books I’ve had for ages but keep picking the new books I’ve bought to read! Lol.
    I don’t find my mood affects what I read, but I do find it influences how much I enjoy the book, but then again, sometimes to book effects my mood haha, it’s an endless cycle.
    Also I do pick different books depending on the time of year, for example Harry Potter I usually read every summer, and I’m more likely to pick up a romance, or lightweight book then, whereas I’m more likely to read a good fantasy or thriller in the winter. 🙂

    • shelovestoread December 5, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

      thats why i have my system, so that i actually read the books that i brought, otherwise i know i never would!

      your answer is fairly simular to mine 😀

  3. Palm Trees & Bare Feet December 1, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    Actually, I really like your system! My system is having my boyfriend pick out a book for me and usually he picks one out I don’t want to read! So maybe if I force myself to read the ones which have been in my TBR pile for a while (which are quite a few) I would actually read every book I buy!

    Great answer!

    Here’s my BTT: http://palmtreesbarefeet.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/booking-through-thursday-mood-reading/

    🙂

    • shelovestoread December 5, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

      I’m currently battling my way through the chick lit section that i brought last year, nearly done and thank goodness for that hehe!

      i like your system too 🙂

  4. laurelrainsnow December 1, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    You are so organized! I should do that! I have separate stacks for the older books on a shelf in my bedroom, while the newer ones are stacked on top of my office bookcase and on the office coffee table. Guess which ones I notice more? Duh…

    Which is why I’m finding it so hard to get through those stacks!

    Here’s MY BTT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

    • shelovestoread December 5, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

      thanks 🙂 i dunno if its organised, or just a bit weird lol!

      have a good week 🙂

  5. Fiona December 1, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    You have a good system… but unfortunately my TBR is numbering at 481 at the moment so you see, I don’t have a system of my own at all.. Every time I finish a book I go fishing in my bookshelf and pick out the one I feel most like, whether I acquired it yesterday, or the year before.

    I feel kinda sad and silly sometimes that I buy a book, get really excited about reading it and then don’t read it for a long time. I’ve had some books that have been in my bookcase for over five years – some of them ten.

    I like to give myself the best opportunity to enjoy a book… so if I read out of mood I don’t feel like I’m giving it my best or that I’m getting the best out of it.

    I wish I was a little more organised though….

    • shelovestoread December 5, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

      wow! your TBR is almost double mine, mines at about 240 ish. i do like the freedom of yours, but i know if i did that i wouldnt read books that ive already got, trying to get my shelf down a bit!

      i know the feeling, its quite sad, but when you finally get round to it i really enjoy it 🙂

  6. Leeswammes December 1, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    A very good system! I don’t do that, but I set myself the goal to read all books at least before the end of the next year (so all books I received in 2010 are now read… bar one).

    • shelovestoread December 5, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

      thats good, its like starting the year with a clean slate, will you read the last one?

      • Leeswammes December 5, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

        I will try to. It’s an ebook and I don’t have an e-reader, which is why it’s still on the TBR pile. I do read ebooks on the laptop, but do not prefer to.

  7. Shannon's Book Blog December 1, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Great system, I should start picking my books like this! I’ve neglected so many books over the years in favor of new ones! And seeing as I have a hard time choosing my next read, this will choose it for me!

    here’s my answer http://eatupmyfreetime.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/mood-reading/

    • shelovestoread December 5, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

      it does choose it for you, and each book gets a chance to be read, then if i dont like it i dont have to read it 🙂

  8. mervih December 1, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    Great system! Of course, I always want to read the books I’ve just bought.

Leave a Reply

