Booking Through Thursday – Best of 2011

29 Dec

What were your favourite books of 2011?

I read a fair few good books this year, but these are my favourites.

1)The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne. This was quite a shocking storyline and made me cry at the end.

2)The Lost Symbol – Dan Brown. I konw a lot of people don’t like these books, but i loved it.

3)PS I Love You – Cecelia Ahern. This book is fantastic, a real page turner and made me cry again.

4)The Secret Garden – Francis Hodgson Burnett. This was a re-read of a childhood favourite.

5)Reading Lolita in Tehran – Azar Nafisi. This was a book i was a little unsure about, but the treatment of women in this book is nothing short of shocking.

6)Teacher, Teacher! – Jack Sheffield. This is a memoir of a headteacher. Fabulously funny.

7)Where Rainbows End – Cecelia Ahern. The second book by this author to make the list. This one takes the form of letters all through the book.

These books are my favourite of the year, but many others could have made the list.

 

12 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Best of 2011”

  1. laurelrainsnow December 29, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I love Cecelia Ahern’s books, but haven’t read those two. I must!

    Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY BTT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

    • shelovestoread December 29, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

      These two are definitaly my favourites of her that i have read so far!

  2. Barbara H. December 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    I’ve never read The Secret Garden, but I should, it’s such a classic. I’ve heard The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas was heart-breaking.

    • shelovestoread December 29, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      The Secret Garden is fantastic, such an easy read too. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is really heartbreaking, but one of those books you must read!

  3. Lady Kell of Kincavel December 29, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    We share a favourite! 🙂
    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post. 🙂

    • shelovestoread December 29, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

      🙂 The Secret Garden is most definitaly good!

  4. Alison December 29, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    I read The Secret Garden for the first time this year. I loved it!

    • shelovestoread December 29, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      it is such a brilliant book, definitaly a good one to re-read a lot too.

  5. mary Ann Langan December 29, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    The Boy In The Stripped Pajamas was very good.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/12/booking-through-thursday_29.html

  6. Marce January 1, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    Secret Garden was on my list also. I had the pleasure of reading for the first time, can’t wait for my daughter to be older so we can read together.

    Happy New year

    • shelovestoread January 2, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      its such a good book, brilliant for a re-read too!

Leave a Reply

