Its Monday! What are you Reading? (2nd Jan)

2 Jan

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly meme held over on Book Journey. Its a place where book lovers gather together and discuss there reading for the next week.

My News

Last week was the first time in months that i didnt participate 😦 i was so busy with Christmas, i was spending the day visiting people, and i just didnt have time at all to post.

So, my Christmas news. I got a KINDLE!!! my lovely boyfriend picked up all hints and brought me one. And i have to say it is fantastic. I’ve already downloaded a fair few books for it and have already read two!

Books Read

I have read 4 books in the last two weeks, which actually isnt too bad considering the amount of free time i havent had!

The first book i finished was Thanks for the Memories by Cecelia Ahern. I am a huge fan of her books and they always hook me in. I did really enjoy this book. It wasnt as good as some of her others, like PS I Love You, but this was still very good.

The next book i read was Me and Mr Darcy by Alexandra Potter. I read another of her books this year, Be Careful What You Wish For, but this one was so much better. I havent yet read Pride and Prejudice, that this book is based on but i still really enjoyed this book.

The next book I read was a book on my Kindle. This was Broadmoor Revealed: Victorian Crime and the Lunatic Asylum by Mark Stevens. I really enjoyed this too and will be posting some proper thoughts on this one later.

The last book i read was The Girl Who Couldn’t Say No by Tracy Engelbrecht. This was the second book i read on my kindle and really enjoyed it too. Its a memoir about a teenage girl that gets pregnant, and what i really enjoyed about this book was it is very honest.

Reading Now

In ‘tree’ books I’m currently reading The Further Adventures of a London Call Girl by Belle De Jour. Now this book is seriously not one to leave laying around as some parts are seriously rude! Quite obviously considering the subject matter, but even so. I read the first in the series a few years back and have finally got around to the second in the series.

 

On my kindle I’m currently reading The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. It is one of those books that i always said i would read, but have never got around to reading it. As it was free for the kindle too, i thought i would give it a go.

Reading Next

The next book I’m going to read off my TBR pile is Its a Kind of Magic by Carole Matthews. Carole Matthews is one of my favourite chick lit authors and i really enjoy her books. Hope this one is as good.

Books Brought

I have downloaded quite a few books for the kindle free, but i wont list them because there are just so many of them! But for Christmas i got The Hunger Games Series as a present from my mum, i cant wait to get started on them!

 

6 Responses to “Its Monday! What are you Reading? (2nd Jan)”

  1. Paul January 2, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    I also have Broadmoor Revealed on my Kindle app. Can’t wait to read what you thought of it.

    Here’s my It’s Monday

  2. Sheila (Book Journey) January 2, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Looks like some good reading! The post almost didnt go up last week…. I was busy too and only on Monday morning did I decide to go ahead with it 😉

    Happy New Year!

    • shelovestoread January 2, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

      thanks 🙂 Its one of those things Christmas, gets in the way of reading hehe. i would have probably posted if i was at home, but instead was off visting various relatives 🙂

      happy New Year 🙂

  3. curlygeek04 January 2, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    I hope you love your Kindle! I don’t go anywhere without mine. I’ve read some of the Sherlock Holmes stories and loved them. Happy new year!

    • shelovestoread January 2, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      I’m really loving my Kindle, I’m taking it everywhere with me at the minute!

      I’m not that far into Sherlock Holmes at the minute, but am loving the bits i have read!

Leave a Reply

