2011 Goal Wrap up and 2012 Goals

10 Jan

I have been deciding if I should post this or not this year, but I have finally decided to post.

These are my goals from 2011.

1) Read 75 books – this amount should be manageable, i managed 56 books from May-December 2010, so i should be able to do it. I read 76 books in the end, but i read books for the sake of reading them. I will sort this out this year.

2)Try to read some different books, not just stick to the same easy chick lit books. I read a lot, and I mean a lot of chick lit again this year. However this was mainly because I had so many on my shelf and I wanted to get them read and out-of-the-way. That saying, I have read other genres too.

3) Buy more books and a new bookcase! I brought more books, far too many in fact. I’m yet to buy a bookcase, mainly because I am toying with the idea of moving out and I don’t want to buy anything just yet.

4)Take part in some Memes.I take part in three memes most weeks. Its Monday! What are you Reading?, WWW Wednesdays and Booking Through Thursday. I think this is enough don’t you?

5)Review books better than i did last year.I’m hoping that I do this better now. I do try to post honest thoughts too, sorry if I offend anybody but I dont see a point in saying i enjoyed a book if I didn’t.

6)Do an end of Week catch up every week. I do this during my Its Monday! What are you Reading? post on a monday.

7)Review my month in reading at the end of every month I do this every month, and it’s quite fascinating to see what I have read during the month.

8)Keep Reviewing and keep booklists up to date, both on here and on the BCF I do sometimes find this a bit difficult, because it sometimes takes hours to do, but i am trying.

9)Do not buy all the series at once. Read the first book first and if I enjoy it, then buy the next book etc. I have been doing this, the only flaw is that I have to wait a while to read the next in the series.

10) Buy more books for my reading challenges! Again, I brought to many books last year, so I don’t think i need anymore at the minute.

I don’t think i did too badly for my goals i achieved most of them, however this year I want to do things a bit different.

  1. Try and read 75 books, but if I don’t, it doesn’t matter.
  2. Get back in love with reading. Stop reading books to hit a target, enjoy books more.
  3. Try and read a few books for your thousands of reading challenges.
  4. DO NOT sign up for any more long reading lists.
  5. Do monthly re-caps, these are helpful.
  6. Do not go mad on Kindle freebies, think before you click.
  7. Try and get rid of a few books after you read them, charity shop if need be.
  8. Think before putting a book on your wishlist.
  9. Stick to the read 4, buy 1 book rule, you cannot afford a lot, plus your tbr is getting very unmanageable.
  10. Have fun with reading.
2 Responses to “2011 Goal Wrap up and 2012 Goals”

  1. beckyday6 January 10, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    These sound like some great goals to me! Good luck 🙂

    • shelovestoread January 11, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      thanks i hope these are a bit more realistic this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

