For the Love of Reading.

13 Jan

I was having a think about my reading habits and the habits of others in the blogisphere. I’m not sure if it is just me, or whether it is others too, so if its not you, please feel free to correct me.

I have been thinking that maybe the love within reading has disappeared a little for me, and maybe others. it seems that i am flying through books with one object in mind, to read as quickly as i can, and get through books to have a high number of books read at the end of the year.

A lot of the time I’m checking the page number every few pages and working out how many pages are left in the book. I need to cut out doing this. Also, towards the second half of last year i was reading books just to count them as a number, and skim reading sometimes almost half a book. That doesnt seem like good bookworm behaviour.I was even reading when i didnt feel like reading just to finish books.

So this year i am going to do things a little different, for the love of reading.

  • I will read a book and enjoy it
  • i would like to have read 75 books by the end of the year, however if i dont it doesnt matter.
  • I will read when i fancy it, not to keep up with others
  • If it takes me a week or a month to read a book, it doesnt matter either.

Hopefully i will get back into the love of reading this year, and re-discover why i fell in love in the first place.

6 Responses to “For the Love of Reading.”

  1. Shirley January 14, 2012 at 5:28 am #

    Challenges can have that effect on bloggers. We needn’t compare ourselves to others and their reading habits. We began blogging because of our love for books and mustn’t allow that love to fade due to expectations of numbers read. Let’s keep the joy in reading and have fun while we blog! 🙂

    • shelovestoread January 16, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      Indeed, i always want to read more and keep up with others. I agree though we need to keep the fun within the reading 🙂

  2. Briana January 15, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    I’ve always read a decent amount of books, so I haven’t felt too pressured to read more. I do think, however, there is some pressure to review every book I’ve read because I try to post at least one review a week. So you can look at your blog as a positive thing: Even if you think you’re reading books too fast, at the end you still need to take the time to ponder their message and whether they were good!

    • shelovestoread January 16, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

      that is also true, with blogging i can think about the book more other than tossing it aside once its finished. Thank you for your comment 🙂

  3. Caroline January 20, 2012 at 7:00 am #

    I have the exact same issue and my reading goal this year is to try to enjoy the book at the moment. I always keep track of what I read, so it’s almost a personal contest to read a certain number of books. Sometimes the worst part is not knowing what to read next. Happy reading!

    • shelovestoread January 20, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      Indeed, i think sometimes we get to caught up in what we have to read next on the shelf. Its a bit of a personal contest with me, but this year i am enjoying reading more

      happy reading to you too 😀

Leave a Reply

