E-book VS ‘Real’ Book – Does it Matter?

17 Jan

Well, I am the proud new owner of a Kindle, I got it as Christmas gift from my boyfriend and I am fully in love with it. However, when I mention it to people I am met with a very mixed response. It seems that Kindles, kobos, nooks etc are like Marmite, you either love them or hate them.

A lot of people wrinkle up their noses, look at me like I’ve just grown another head and say, ‘Whatever do you have one of those for?’ or ‘you can never replace a ‘real’ book.’ On the other hand others say to me ‘Wow, how brilliant’ or other words to that effect.

This time last year, i was definitely opposed to e-books. I was on the side of the ‘tree books’ I liked the feeling of the book in my hands, the look of them all on my shelf, the love of hunting around in a charity shop or second-hand book shop never knowing what I might find and all the other arguments that you can think of.

Then I slowly changed my mind, I began to run out of room on my shelves for new books, I travel a lot between my house and my boyfriends and I got fed up of taking 4 or so books with me at a time. So, I asked for a kindle and got one.

A kindle does have its good points too. There are so many free books, it is my new addiction, and best of all its free. I read faster on the kindle than I do other books. I have so much choice when I’m out and about now, its fantastic.

So, back to the point of the post. Does it matter if you read books or e-books? Do you have to pick one or the other?

The answer is NO! I read both. I take my kindle to work and to the boyfriends and i have my other books at home. I can download freebies on the kindle without feeling too guilty. I can still browse the second-hand book shops. I can still feel a book in my hands, along with the choice of my books on my kindle.

I think it doesn’t matter if you read e-books or paper books. What matters is that you read. Surely that is the important thing, and if e-books encourage more people to read and more often, then that can only be a good thing.

4 Responses to “E-book VS ‘Real’ Book – Does it Matter?”

  1. meganm922 January 17, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Well said. I don’t have an e-reader myself. I don’t feel like I need one, though I’m in need of a second bookshelf because of lack of space. I rag on my e-reading friends about real books, but only because I love them. They surely aren’t envious of me when I’m waiting for a book in the mail because my local bookstore doesn’t stock it.
    There are definitely pros and cons and I think the best thing is to probably use both.
    But you’re right, it doesn’t matter HOW you are reading the books (after all, even audiobooks are great for people that don’t have much time), it’s important that you are reading.

    • shelovestoread January 17, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

      Indeed, i forgot the audio books actually. i still like waiting for a book in the post and the anticipation of getting round to reading it, because i have a huge ammount of books to be read!

      But i think its true, however people enjoy books its good as long as they enjoy them πŸ˜€

  2. Caroline January 20, 2012 at 6:35 am #

    I also never saw myself as an e-reader, but I’ve now had my Kindle for almost a year and I love it. I still love to visit my library and local bookstores. (Most libraries even loan e-books on Kindle.) However, I still love a ‘real’ book in my hands. I love that you highlighted your ‘tree book’ and ‘kindle book’. Perhaps I’ll do the same. πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread January 20, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      I love mine too and its great that we can have the choice of both.

      I prefer reading my kindle somedays and a book the others. So i highlight both πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

