The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

18 Jan

Started – 1/1/2012

Finished – 18/1/2012

Format – Kindle e-book

 

Challenges – 1001 Must Read Books

 

Synopsis – Amid the foggy streets of sinister London and the even more sinister countryside, Holmes and Watson once more solve the unsolvable. This book is a collection of stories, including -A Scandal in Bohemia, A Case of Identity, The Red-Headed League ,The Boscombe Valley Mystery.

 

My Thoughts – I downloaded this book for my Kindle the day i got it because at the time it was the top free book in the downloads, and it was a book that i have always wanted to read but never got around to it. I am so so so so glad that i downloaded it and read it because it is an amazing book. To start with i was a little bit worried that i might not be able to get into the book properly as it is a classic and that is something that i always struggle with, but this was not the case with this book. I really got into it from the start and couldnt put it down. I also liked the variety of the short stories. Some i guessed straight away what was going to happen, and others i really couldnt guess. I was hooked at finding out what had happened with the stories and really want to read more.

 

i think my favourite story from the lot was The Read-Headed League. This one really had an intricate plot and it kept me guessing until the very end. I also enjoyed the character of Holmes himself, and how extravagant he was.

 

I have a couple of negatives, but only small ones. The kindle edition had a few typos and couldn’t pick up some of the money symbols which was a bit puzzling at first until i worked it out what it was and i read this book out of sequence too. It doesn’t matter from the book front, it’s just me, i like to read books in the order that they were written!

 

A brilliant book, highly recommended and i cant wait to read more!

 

Rating – 5/5

6 Responses to “The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle”

  1. beckyday6 January 18, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    I’ve been thinking I should read some of the Sherlock Holmes books for a while as there pretty classic, but I thought they might be quite difficult to read or boring. From the sounds of your review though they sound good, so I might just give them a go now πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread January 18, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

      Do give them a go, i promise they are really easy to read and not at all boring πŸ™‚

      If you do give them a go, read some of the short stories and ease yourself in gently, thats what i did anyway πŸ˜€

  2. TBM January 19, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    This is on my list to read this year. Yippie you liked it! Good chance I will as well.

    • shelovestoread January 20, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      Good πŸ˜€ its a brilliant book, hope you enjoy it as much as i did πŸ™‚

  3. Nicola Billing May 16, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    I think I have this as well. I also brought it when I first got my kindle (over a year ago now) and I still haven’t read it. Maybe I’ll get round to it during summer πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread May 16, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

      I got it on the day i got my kindle πŸ˜€ if you get a chance to read it do, its very good i was surprised at to how much i enjoyed it πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

