Booking Through Thursday – Skipping

19 Jan

I saw this article the other day that asked, “Are you ashamed of skipping parts of books?” Which, naturally, made me want to ask all of YOU.

Do you skip ahead in a book? Do you feel badly about it when you do?

Well i think it depends what I’m reading. If it’s a re-read, i have been known to skip parts of a book that didn’t interest me, i used to do this quite a bit with the Harry Potter books and some other books. If it’s a part that I don’t like, I’m not so bothered about skipping it.

I have also been known to skip almost half of a book that I didn’t like, or wanted to get finish. A couple of books that i did this to last year was The Ambassadors by Henry James and A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Boyne. Both of these books I didn’t like and couldn’t get into, so I didn’t feel all that bad about skipping parts of them.

As to the feeling guilty part, i might feel a little bit bad for a few seconds, but I have a new reading plan for this year. If i am not enjoying a book I’m not going to read it. Life’s too short to be reading a book I am not enjoying.

22 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Skipping”

  1. Lady Kell of Kincavel January 19, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Good answer. Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post

    • shelovestoread January 20, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      a simular answer again hehe 🙂 happy reading 😀

  2. Aine @ House Millar January 19, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Life is definitely too short!

    Here’s my BTT ~ House Millar series

    Áine

  3. laurelrainsnow January 19, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    I agree that if a book is too boring, in more than just a small part or two, I’m going to set it aside. Since life is too short, and all….

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

    • shelovestoread January 20, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      Indeed, to short to be wasting time on a book you are not enjoying 🙂

  4. Michael January 19, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    I try not to skip ahead but sometimes I’m interested enough to see how it all comes out without necessarily being interested enough to go on the whole journey.

    • shelovestoread January 20, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      Sometimes it is fun to skim read if you arent enjoying the book 🙂

  5. mary Ann Langan January 19, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    I agree with your answer if a book is too boring.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/01/booking-through-thursday_19.html

  6. Kary January 19, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    I agree! There are too many good books out there to waste time trudging through something we don’t like! New follower here! Here is my BTT if you’d like to follow back: http://theonceandfuturelibrarian.blogspot.com/2012/01/booking-through-thursday-do-you-skip.html

  7. Laura (@BurgandyIce) January 19, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    🙂 Nice answer. I think it feels better to feel badly for a few seconds, personally. But that’s enough!! 🙂 My BTT: http://burgandyice.blogspot.com/2012/01/booking-through-thursday.html

    • shelovestoread January 20, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      exactly, think about for a little while, and then move on hehe

  8. Tina January 20, 2012 at 5:26 am #

    I like your new plan. If you don’t care enough to read the middle part, the book isn’t worthy of your time.

  9. Caroline January 20, 2012 at 7:03 am #

    Hmm, I don’t think I’ve skipped parts but I’ve counted the page numbers until the next chapter. Good reading motto!

    • shelovestoread January 20, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      I’ve done that to the end of a book if it hasnt been good in the past hehe 🙂

  10. hazelceej January 21, 2012 at 5:10 am #

    True. Why read it if you don’t enjoy it? Unless there are other pressing reasons which could be the case for others 🙂

    http://www.stasiadesiderata.com/2012/01/19/skipping-parts-of-books/

  11. leesadee January 25, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    I will skip parts of a book that bore me. Generally, it comes down to 3 categories: long, detailed descriptions of locations; battle scenes (ugh!); and long, unlikely and disgusting sex scenes (double ugh!). I usually kept on with the book unless it is dominated by these 3 categories, especially the battle scenes and the sex scenes. Not for me.

    • shelovestoread January 25, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

      each to their own, i agree with the skipping of parts of a book that arent your cup of tea 🙂

Leave a Reply

