Booking Through Thursday – Writing or Riveting?

26 Jan

What’s more important: Good writing? Or a good story?

(Of course, a book should have BOTH, but…)

I think that although both are important to a good story, i would say the writing is more important. I don’t think i can actually read a book where the writing is bad, for example if the writing is to complicated or if it uses 4 sentences where one would have done.

A good story is important too because if it doesn’t keep me interested I’m not going to want to pick up the book.

One point i will make is i download a lot of Kindle freebies and the writing on some of them is awful, spelling mistakes and bad grammar. If a book is like this, i wont read it and delete it off my kindle.

18 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Writing or Riveting?”

  1. Victoria Teoh (@vicflame2712) January 26, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    I totally agree about the grammar part. Spelling mistakes, I can handle because sometimes, you just can’t spell properly! But grammar errors are so obvious that I simply can’t stand it! It has to be story for me though, I need a good story to keep me interested!

    Here’s mine: http://alwaysabooklover.blogspot.com/2012/01/booking-through-thursday-writing-or.html

    • shelovestoread January 27, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      I have a problem with spelling myself, so i know it can be a problem, but if you have written a book then maybe you should have used the spell checker!

  2. Aine @ House Millar January 26, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    It’s hard to say in this case though (1 sentence vs 4) as the 4 sentence way is not necessary ‘bad’ but rather wordy (which I like at times). It would depend on the story and if that was called for. ?

    Also, spelling is sometimes a tricky one – is it wrong or just not the kind of Eng you are used to (eg. American vs UK vs Canadian vs Ausie). I’ve run into that where readers have fussed when I wrote centre instead of center but it’s a matter of which Eng not actual errors.

    Here’s my BTT ~ House Millar series

    Áine

    • shelovestoread January 27, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

      I suppose yes, i do sometimes have trouble understanding Americanisms though!

  3. Lady Kell of Kincavel January 26, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    Good answer. 🙂
    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post

  4. mostraum January 26, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    I think there’s a big difference between bad and passably good, and it’s when both are at least passably good that I notice where my priorities lie. That’s when the story becomes more important.

  5. DawnTreader January 26, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    I tend to agree with you! I think it’s awfully hard to answer this kind of question without actual examples in mind, though.

    http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2012/01/good-story-deserves-good-writing-btt.html

    • shelovestoread January 30, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

      It does, i was trying to think of example but couldnt!

  6. Gigi Ann January 26, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Since we are to choose one answer, I always go for the “Good Story.”

  7. Briana January 26, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Interestingly, I don’t think I’ve ever run across a book where I thought the writing was the most beautiful stuff I’ve ever read but the story was terrible. There are bad stories with writing that’s “good”–generally sound and grammatically correct, nothing wrong with it–but then I decide the book is just mediocre instead of terrible. I don’t get excited that the person knows English well. :p

  8. mary Ann Langan January 26, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    I think that you really need both.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/01/booking-through-thursday_26.html

  9. Cathy January 26, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    Yeah it all depends on the story and the writing to specific book, let’s say one of my favorite books if the writing wasn’t good the story might not be good, but i’m all about the story.
    Here’s my BTT.

    Happy Reading!
    Cathy @Addicted to Books

  10. laurelrainsnow January 26, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    This is a horrible choice, since I want both…but if we can settle on “good enough” writing and good story, I guess that could top fabulous writing and not much story.

    Personally, I haven’t seen too many fabulously written books with bad story….

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  11. Heidi January 26, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    I can see it from both sides, making this question very difficult for me. The more I read the answers the more I flip flop back and forth. Here is mine http://newpaperadventures.blogspot.com/2012/01/good-story-or-good-writing.html

  12. Tina Louise January 27, 2012 at 5:10 am #

    I’ve been downloading tons of free ebooks, too. I’ve not gotten to too many of them, but the first novel I went to read, I deleted after two chapters. The writing was in need of a good editor and then came a plot hole I couldn’t overlook. I was done.

    http://nerdbliss.com/wordpress/2012/01/26/rivet-me/

Leave a Reply

