Things I Want My Daughters To Know – Elizabeth Noble

31 Jan

 

Started – 24/1/12

Finished – 27/1/12

Format – Paperback

 

Synopsis – ‘My beautiful girls. If you’ve read this, you’ll know it contains some – not all, but some – of the things I want my daughters to know. And the greatest of these is love …’How would you say goodbye to those you love most in the world?Barbara must say a final farewell to her four daughters. But how can she find the words? And how can she leave them when they each have so much growing up to do? There’s commitment-phobic Lisa. Brittle, unhappily married Jennifer. Free-spirited traveller Amanda. And teenage Hannah, stumbling her way towards adulthood.Barbara’s answer is to write each daughter a letter, finally expressing the hopes, fears, dreams and secrets she couldn’t always voice. These words will touch the girls in different – sometimes shocking – ways, unlocking emotions and passions to set them on their own journey of discovery through life.

 

My Thoughts – Wow, this book is such a tear jearker. I was in tears reading it within about 5 or 10 pages. It tells the story of a family who is devistated by cancer, and how it affects all the members of a family. The mother, who was dying of cancer wrote the four different daughters letters and this is told throughout the book.

 

These letters made me cry a lot. It made me realise that life is so precious, and also so short. You never know what be waiting round the corner for you, so live your life to the max.

 

The story was very easy to read and get into. I think this should go on my list of definitate books that you should read.

 

I cant actually say much more about this book, but it is very good.

 

Rating – 4/5

 

 

4 Responses to “Things I Want My Daughters To Know – Elizabeth Noble”

  1. readytoreadthis January 31, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    I own this book and to be honest i pick it up and put it back down quite a lot. Sounds like i need to give it a go though 🙂

    • shelovestoread February 1, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      It is very good, but very sad at the same time. I would say give it a go, you might like it 😀

  2. Sibongile June 28, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    I saw it at clicks only yesterday-and i am going to buy it tomorrow.
    I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

