Booking Through Thursday – Found Books

2 Feb

Have you ever read a random book left in a waiting room or on a park bench, etc., and did you like it?

I have only done this once and really liked the book i picked up. I was shooting with the Air Cadets and their is a LOT of waiting about for your go and on the table was 3 Para by Patrick Bishop. I had a little bit of debating about it because its not a genre i really read, but started to read it.

I enjoyed it that much i had to borrow a copy from my boyfriend, who luckiely already owned the book (how bizarre was that!)

I enjoyed this book so much its one of the genres i read now. So i think you should always give different genres a go, because you never know, you might like it.

10 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Found Books”

  1. Lady Kell of Kincavel February 2, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    I used to be in the Air Cadets too. πŸ™‚ I shall have to look for that book and see what it’s all about…
    My Booking Through Thursday post

    • shelovestoread February 6, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

      Yay for Air Cadets πŸ™‚ confession time, i never left hehe! I’m staff now πŸ˜€

  2. laurelrainsnow February 2, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    I like your story and how it turned you on to other genres. Here’s MY THEME THURSDAYS POST – and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  3. Cathy February 2, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    I’m going to have to look it up to see the genre lol. Great answer. Here’s my BTT.

    Happy Reading!
    Cathy @ Addicted to Books

  4. A Year of Reading My Own Books Blog February 2, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    Hi: My found books story is here: http://yearofreadingmybooks.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/empire-state-cakes-and-chatterboxes-booking-through-thursday/

    I should follow your lead and expand into new genres, maybe a found book will cross my path soon and help me, happy reading, Ruby

    • shelovestoread February 6, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      happy reading to you too, you never know what you might find and like πŸ˜€

  5. leesadee February 5, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    I don’t remember ever finding a book and reading it. I did find a lost library book and I started to read it, but it didn’t appeal.
    But speaking of reading a book in a genre that I don’t typically care for: the same genre as the book you mentioned, 3 PARA, war stories. I read THE KILLER ANGELS by Michael Shaara and found it was a tremendous read. It’s about the battle of Gettysburg in the US Civil war. Very gripping and moving, probably a lot like 3 PARA, I would guess.

    • shelovestoread February 6, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

      I’ll have to look out for that one πŸ™‚ thanks for the heads up πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

