Its Monday! What Are You Reading (13th Feb)

13 Feb

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held over on Book Journey, it’s a brilliant place to catch up on everyone’s reading for the week. February is starting to be a good reading month for me, I finished another two books this week.

Books Read

The first book i finished was The Love Trainer by Julia Llewellyn. This book was okay, but I couldn’t really connect with the characters very well, and in the end I kind of skim read the last 50 or so pages.

 

 

 

 

The second book i finished was The Secret Holocaust Diaries: The Untold Story of Nonna Bannister by Nonna Bannister. This is the most harrowing holocaust story I have ever read, it just made me think how horrible it must have been for people living during that time, and that they must never be forgotten.

 

 

 

Reading Now

In book form I’m currently reading Mistress Masham’s Repose by T. H. White. This book has been picked has the choice for the february reading circle over on the BCF. I know, better late than never, but I’m trying to catch up on my books. I can’t really say much about this as I’m only a couple of pages into it.

 

In kindle form I’m reading Out of Time by Deborah Truscott. This book is about a woman who inherits an old house and with it a man who has fallen through time.This started off very slowly, so much so that I almost gave up on it. I’m quite glad I didn’t because it’s started to pick up the pace a little and im enjoying it more.

 

 

Reading Next

Next up off my huge TBR pile is my personalised copy of Emotional Geology by Linda Gillard. I won this in a competition in 2010 and have been looking forward to reading it ever since.

 

Books Brought

I brought one book last week, a re-read for me, Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck.

 

6 Responses to “Its Monday! What Are You Reading (13th Feb)”

  1. Lindsay February 13, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    I have Emotional Geology to read too. She is a really good writer. Hope you enjoy it. Have a great week!
    http://thelittlereaderlibrary.blogspot.com/2012/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

    • shelovestoread February 13, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

      I cant wait to start reading it, its my first book by this author 🙂 happy reading week 😀

  2. Dollycas February 13, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    All new titles to me and all of them look really good!
    Happy Reading!!

  3. leesadee February 14, 2012 at 7:22 am #

    I’m still reading CURSE OF THE SPELLMANS and KEEPING CHICKENS. I am also reading THE INFERNALS by John Connolly. It’s about a boy and his dog who end up in Hell. I’ve just started it, so I don’t know how they go to Hell, but so far it’s been pretty funny.
    I finished GREY MASK by Patricia Wentworth. It’s a mystery story with a beautiful, young heiress who is targeted for murder by a criminal gang and her nasty cousin. It was written about 1928 but still holds up really well and has lots of surprises and plot twists. I enjoyed it quite a lot.
    I am planning to read STILL RIVER by Hal Clement. It’s a science fiction story about a young female scientist who, while on an expedition on a strange world, falls into a fissure that leads to a series of tunnels and caves and alien creatures. I think it will be a good read.
    I read MISTRESS MASHAMS REPOSE years ago but I still remember it. It was a good story and very charming.

    • shelovestoread February 14, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

      Still River sounds very good, i might have to check that one out. I’m really getting into Mistress Mashams Repose, think its going to hook me in a bit.

Leave a Reply

