Booking Through Thursday – Fan Fiction

16 Feb

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

 

Pepca asks

Have you every written any fan-fiction? If yes, why and for which book(s)? If no, would you like to and for which books(s)?

 

For that matter, do you ever READ fan-fiction??

 

Now, i was thinking about this the other day. I’d love to write some sort of fan fiction properly, having had to do it once for a school project. We studied the book Holes by Louis Sachar, but this was way before the movie was released and became so famous. We had to write a short story about what happens to the children once they had left Camp Green Lake. Now, I read this back a couple of years ago and it was nothing short of terrible. But, in my defence, I was only about 11 or 12 at the time.

I’d like to write something, but i think it would have to be done very carefully because i wouldn’t want to disrespect the original book in any way. I’m not sure what sort of book i would like to use, but it wouldn’t be anything really popular like the Harry Potter series or Twilight, just because they are so popular and people are so  familiar with them.

I read a little bit on a couple of blogs sometimes, but its not something that i do religiously.

 

15 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Fan Fiction”

  1. Lady Kell of Kincavel February 16, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    I once tried to rewrite Frankenstein from the Monster’s point of view and worked on it for weeks in a blue jotter. I was, however, only 7 or 8 at the time and was only going on the Hammer Horror films rather than the original novel and looking back, it must have been dire – LOL!
    My Booking Through Thursday post

    • Aine @ House Millar February 16, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      That sounds like a fun project, even if you were so young. I think the monster gets a really bad rap!

      • shelovestoread February 16, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

        i think the monster does too!

    • shelovestoread February 16, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      Wow! I had to do something a little bit simular while i was studying for A levels, but i gave up on it and had to do something else!

  2. Claire February 16, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    That’s an awesome school project. We had to do one where we rewrote Beowulf which was a bit random in what people did – some just wrote the story again, some really changed it, and I did it as a flashback. It was a ton of fun though 🙂

    My BTT post is here if you’d like a look 🙂

    • shelovestoread February 16, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      Wow, thats a good idea to do it as a flashback, am now going to check your post out 😀

  3. Aine @ House Millar February 16, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    Your school projects sound way more fun than any of mine!
    And as long as you have fun and don’t disrespect the author, I don’t see it as a bad thing 🙂

    • shelovestoread February 16, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      I loved my english lesson projects, they were the best! I would have to get the authors permission, i would hate do do something that they didnt like!

  4. Cathy February 16, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    Yeah I don’t think I could ever write anything, I’ll keep it all in my head for now. Here’s my BTT
    Happy Reading!
    Cathy @ Addicted to Books

  5. Books That Spark (@booksthatspark) February 16, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your answer!
    Mine can be found here.

    Happy Reading!

  6. Vicki February 16, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    We never had to do anything like that in school. It does sound like a fun assignment for kids that age!
    Here’s My BTT

  7. Eva @View from the Hillside February 16, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    Maybe I’d have liked writing fiction better in school if we’d been given an assignement like that. I hope you get around to it some day.

  8. Eileen Leacock February 17, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    Was not sure what Fan-fiction was, never heard the name before, but here is my answer: http://edwardsgranddaugther.blogspot.com/2012/02/fan-fiction.html

Leave a Reply

