Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azcaban – J. K. Rowling

29 Feb

Synopsis – When Harry and his best friends go back for their third year at Hogwarts, the atmosphere is tense. There’s an escaped mass-murderer on the loose and the sinister prison guards of Azkaban have been called in to guard the school. Lessons, however, must go on and there are lots of new subjects in third year – Care of Magical Creatures and Divination among others – to take Harry’s mind off things!

 

My Thoughts – I am slowly dipping in and out of The Harry Potter Series and after a couple of months i have finished Harry Potter and the Prisoner Of Azcaban. I have re-read this book probably about 50 or so times, because this is my favourite book of the series. I do understand how others say that this book doesnt fit in with all the others. It is the only book not to feature Voldemort directly, he is only mentioned, but i feel that the series would not make any sense without this book. It is kind of the stepping stone between the very child like and slim first couple of books and the very much larger and more dark next four books.

 

I enjoy the story of this book, while there is a mass murderer on the loose there is still the magic of the world of Harry Potter. Hogwarts is still there, with the dementors guarding it now, and the village of Hogsmead is introduced too. One of my favourite chapters is also introduced in this book Professor Lupin, I love him and his wise words and the mystery surrounding his illness in this book.

 

I find it very difficult to write my thoughts on the Harry Potter series, as i enjoy them so much. Basically if you havent read them, do. If you have read them, read them again.

 

I am excited that J. K. Rowling is writing a new book, i knew in my heart of hearts that it wouldnt be another book in this series, but there will always be a little part of me that wishes that there will be.

 

Rating – 5/5

6 Responses to “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azcaban – J. K. Rowling”

  1. yawriterinthemaking February 29, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Love the Harry Potter series! My favorite book is the Order of the Phoenix πŸ™‚

  2. TBM February 29, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    I’m really curious about her new project!

  3. Caroline March 3, 2012 at 5:43 am #

    This is also my favorite Harry Potter book! I love the first time they visit Hogsmead, Professor Lupin, new info about Sirius, etc. I never really thought about it, but Voldermort isn’t in the clear picture. I can’t wait to read J.K. Rowling’s next book! πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread March 5, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

      I forgot Sirius! How could i forget him! I’m still hopeful for more HP, oneday maybe!

Leave a Reply

