Booking Through Thursday – Different Kind of Romance

1 Mar

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Ted asks:

Have you ever fallen in love with a fictional character? Who and what about them did you love?

Well i wouldn’t say i have ever fallen in love with a fictional character, however when i was younger i probably had a ‘crush’ if that isn’t to much of a strong word on Julian from the Famous Five. Now bear in mind i was about 10 years old or so and i thought that he was fantastic. The fact that he was the oldest of the ‘group’ and always new the right things to do.

Nowadays, i wouldn’t say i have a crush on any characters that i come across in any books, but then again maybe i am reading the wrong type of books. I don’t really read an awful lot of romance books anymore, and don’t even start me on Mills and Boon books, i will NEVER pick one of those up again.

So maybe it was a bit of a child like phase for me, having a crush on a character. that s not to say i don’t enjoy the books i read and like the characters. I do, i just don’t fall in love with them. However, some of the TV shows i watch? Now that is a different story!

12 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Different Kind of Romance”

  1. Lady Kell of Kincavel March 1, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    I used ot love the Famous Five books when I was a kid too. And I’m not a MIlls and Boon reader either. 😉

    My Booking Through Thursday post

    • shelovestoread March 2, 2012 at 10:17 am #

      They are some of my favourite books of all time hehe, Mills and Boon books are really not my cup of tea 😛

  2. Pepca March 1, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    I loved the famous Five series when I was a kid and I did have a minor crush on Julian, too. Here is my BTT.

  3. DawnTreader March 1, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    Funny. The Famous Five came to mind for me too (with the same sense of nostalgia) but I couldn’t for the life of me remember the name of Julian – only Dick. I guess I must have had a bigger crush on him! LOL

    Here’s mine: http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2012/03/btt-bookish-romance.html

    • shelovestoread March 2, 2012 at 10:19 am #

      Lol! Dick must have made much more of an impression on you then 🙂

  4. laurelrainsnow March 1, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    No, I don’t read romance much anymore…but sometimes, the mysteries have awesome characters.

    But today, I went back in time to bring MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

    • shelovestoread March 2, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      they do indeed sometimes, i dont think it matters what genre, as long as the characters are good 🙂

  5. mary Ann Langan March 1, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    The famous five is a popular choice today.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/03/booking-through-thursday.html

    • shelovestoread March 2, 2012 at 10:22 am #

      I’ve come across a lot of Famous Five posts too today 🙂

  6. leesadee March 1, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Lord Peter Wimsey. First saw this character on TV, which started me reading the books by Dorothy Sayers. Still have a thing for Lord Peter. My favorite book of that series is MURDER MUST ADVERTISE.

    • shelovestoread March 2, 2012 at 10:23 am #

      I’ve never read them, i must get around to reading them soon, i do have them on my wishlist though!

Leave a Reply

