Its Monday! What Are You Reading? 5th March

5 Mar

Its Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly bookish meme held over on Book Journey. It’s a great place for readers and bloggers to gather their thoughts on the reading week ahead.I have had a fantastic weekend, in which i have read 4 books, yes 4! I cannot remember the last time that i read that many books in that short space of time. I think it might be a record for me.

Books Read

All four books that i read were e-books, i think there is something in the theory that you read faster on the kindle!

  • I Want it Now!  – Julie Dawn Cole. This was a memoir set on the set of Willy Wonka and the chocolate factory. Well the first two-thirds was, the last was about the actresses life after that film and both parts went down well with me. Also there were a lot of photographs and memories which i really liked too.
  • Pied Piper – Neville Shute. this book was the choice for the March reading circle over on the BCF. It tells the story of an older man trying to get out of occupied France during the second world war, and who he picks up along the way. This book was brilliant, set in my favourite time period too, it really was a heartwarming story.
  • Sold In Savannah (Pirates of the Savannah #1) Tarrin P. Lupo. I downloaded this a kindle freebie as the whole trilogy was free for a day. I liked this book, but it is marketed as YA. I would have said that some parts were a bit too gruesome for that genre. But overall i enjoyed the book.
  • Battle Rats (Pirates of the Savannah #2) Tarrin P. Lupo. I went straight on to the second part of the trilogy after the first, something i don’t normally do. I liked this book a lot more than the first. However it is definitely a book series to read in order, it would make no sense at all if not!

Currently Reading

In book form i am currently reading Emotional Geology by Linda Gillard. This book is so poetic and beautiful to read i am taking my time over it, re-reading bits as i go, i will be sorry when i finish it.

In kindle form i am reading the last in the trilogy The Rise of April (Pirates of the Savannah #3) I am really enjoying this trilogy, one that i would definitely recommend.

Reading Next

Next up of my huge TBR pile is another signed book that i won in a competiton back in 2010, Witchfinder: Dawn of the Demontide by William Hussey. I don’t know much about this book, but i cant wait to get my teeth stuck into something new.

Books Brought – None this week, but many freebies downloaded again!

 

2 Responses to “Its Monday! What Are You Reading? 5th March”

  1. Brunette Librarian March 6, 2012 at 1:39 am #

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

