Booking Through Thursday – Lessons

15 Mar

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Ted asks:

Have you ever used a book to instruct someone of something or is there anyone for whom you would like to do that? (I don’t mean a text book for a class, but a work of fiction or non-fiction that would get a certain message across either through plot or character). What is the book and what do you wish to impart?

I don’t think that i have actually done this, but wow what a good idea! I’ve been thinking about this question for a little while about what books i would use and how i would like to do this. Personally, i think that non fiction would work better in this sense, as although fiction sometimes stays true to a story, sometimes i do find it a little bit hard to realise that fiction can be based on a true story.

I would like to use books on one certain subject to educate people, because this particular subject i feel could be almost forgotten about in the next few decades. The subject that i am talking about is The Holocaust. I just feel that if people do not read books and remember this horrific event in history it might get forgotten about in time.

I have read some good books on this subject over the last year – The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne FrankRosies War by Rosemary Say and The Secret Holocaust Diaries by Nonna Bannister. These books are ones i feel that everyone should read, very powerful and very moving.

These horrific events should never be forgotten.

15 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Lessons”

  1. Reading Kelly March 15, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I have really done this either but I agree it is a great idea.
    And I love reading about the Holocaust and similar subjects- I recommend a lot of those books to friends of mine.
    You can see my full BTT response here

    • shelovestoread March 15, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      I would just have to think who to give what book too and why!

      Its one thing that i do like reading about.

  2. Cathy March 15, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    Yeah I would have to think real hard what books i would give to what people. Here’s my BTT

  3. Gigi Ann March 15, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    I would find it difficult to hand a book to someone and say “Read this, there is a lesson in it for you.” No, I’ve never done that.

    • shelovestoread March 16, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

      it is quite a preachy thing to do, in my opinion 🙂

  4. ocdreader March 15, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    I thought it was an interesting question too, and I think I have tried to influence people for various things, but nothing very directly. The most direct one was nonfiction though, besides trying to addict my cousin to reading. 🙂 Mine is here: http://lostinsidethecovers.wordpress.com

    • shelovestoread March 16, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

      great answer 🙂 I’m trying to get my cousins addicted to reading too!

      • ocdreader March 16, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

        It is so much fun to have fellow book addicts to chat with. Makes you feel normal for a while. 🙂

  5. Eva @View from the Hillside March 15, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    The Book Thief is also a good book to read about WWII. Not specifically about the Holocaust, but the family in the book has a jewish man hidden in their house.
    I recommend books all the time, it’s part of my job, and I always hope that the readers “get” something from it. But, if it’s fiction and well done, it shoulnd’t feel like a lesson.

    • shelovestoread March 16, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

      I actually do have that book on my wishlist. I’ll have to look into getting my hands on it sooner 🙂

  6. BlueEggBooks March 16, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    It is a fanastic idea to utilize books and characters to convey an idea! You’re so right about the Holocaust– there are many wonderful fiction and nonfiction novels in which you could use!

    Here’s my BTT: http://blueeggbooks.blogspot.com/2012/03/booking-through-thursday_16.html

    • shelovestoread March 16, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      There is, i think I’ve only discovered the tip of the iceburg with this subject matter!

Leave a Reply

