My New Misson – Reduce My TBR

16 Mar

Well this year I started out with the aim to reduce my TBR. I started the year with around 250 books with the aim to get it down to around 180-190 by the end of the year, baby steps to start with.

However, three months on from that resolution i am now on 335. Instead of loosing 60 or so books i have gained them. This is mainly due to my kindle. I am forever downloading kindle freebies like they are going out of fashion. I now have over 100 books and the list is growing almost daily.

I also feel like i am slacking in the ‘real’ book department. I have only read 1 book in paperback form over the last month. I think that this is really shocking for me and i need to pick up real books too, not just my kindle.

I would love to get to the stage where i only have a couple of books to read, and could buy a book when i first discover it and be able to read it without a backlog. I’d love to be able to use a library too, but i have just so many books to read of my own that this just isn’t possible.

So this is my new resolution

  • Try to read more real books, not just kindle books
  • Stop downloading loads of kindle books just because they are free. Really think about it before you buy.
  • Stick to the read 4 buy 1 book rule. I am doing well at this, I’ve only brought six books for the whole of the year.
  • Really try to stick to these goals if i am ever going to get my tbr down to a manageable amount.

I really need to work at this, so hopefully i don’t slip off the wagon again!

3 Responses to “My New Misson – Reduce My TBR”

  1. beckyday6 March 16, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    Ha! Me too! I have 110 books on my tbr pile which are now all listed on a tab at the top of my blog. Although seeing how many you have to read makes me feel a bit better about my book buying obsession! Although, if I had a kindle, my list would probably be as bad as yours! 😛 Still, at least having too many books to read is a good problem to have 😉

    • shelovestoread March 16, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      ooh i didnt know you had them listed on your blog, ill have to have a nosy at them! Its so many though, its going to take me so long to get through them all! Its a good problem, but id love to be able to have a lot shorter TBR pile 😀

      • beckyday6 March 16, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

        Haha me too, me too 😉
        It’s only a recent addition so I’m not suprized you haven’t noticed it.

Leave a Reply

