Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (2nd April)

2 Apr

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly meme held over on Book Journey by Sheila. Its a great place for book lovers to discuss their week in reading.

Books Read

Over the last week i managed 3 books! At the minute my mojo seems to be at a high, shhh though, dont scare it away 🙂

The first book i finished was One Child by Torey Hayden. I read this in paperback form. I enjoyed this book, but it was very harrowing. It is a true story about a child who has had an awful start in life. It was a good book, but so upsetting and shocking.

The second book i finished was The Firestone Crystal by Linda M. David. I really really really enjoyed this book, i was so sorry that it ended. It is a fantastic  young adult/sci-fi book that should appeal to readers of all ages.

The third book i finished was Hell of a Salesman by Timothy Brooks. This is the type of environment that i work in so it really appealed to me. I do have to add that I’m not a pushy saleswoman, i just answer the phones in the office! A great insight into the world of salesmen.

.

.

.

.

.

Reading Now

In book form I’m currently reading Strike Back by Chris Ryan. This is my first dip into the authors books and i have to say i am quite enjoying it. I’m only about 100 pages or so into it at the minute, but everytime i pick it up i cant put it down again.

On my kindle I’m reading Sin and Sacrifice by Danielle Bourdon. This is the first book in a trilogy (The Daughters of Eve), which i own all of. I am only a couple of pages into it, so I wont say anything on it yet.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Next Up

The next book I’m going to read is The Fifth Child by Doris Lessing. This is the choice for the April Reading Circle on the BCF. This book sounds interesting and i cant wait to start it.

Synopsis –A classic tale from Doris Lessing, Winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature 2007, of a family torn apart by the arrival of Ben, their feral fifth child.

‘Listening to the laughter, the sounds of children playing, Harriet and David would reach for each other’s hand, and smile, and breathe happiness.’

Four children, a beautiful old house, the love of relatives and friends, Harriet and David Lovatt’s life is a glorious hymn to domestic bliss and old-fashioned family values. But when their fifth child is born, a sickly and implacable shadow is cast over this tender idyll. Large and ugly, violent and uncontrollable, the infant Ben, ‘full of cold dislike’, tears at Harriet’s breast. Struggling to care for her new-born child, faced with a darkness and a strange defiance she has never known before, Harriet is deeply afraid of what, exactly, she has brought into the world…

Books Brought

I brought two books in the last week, one was The Fifth Child by Doris Lessing and the second was Before We Say Goodbye by Doris Lessing.

2 Responses to “Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (2nd April)”

  1. Leeswammes April 3, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Have a good week! I love books that are about something close to me, like your salesman book. I bet it’s very good fun to read.

    • shelovestoread April 3, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

      I do think it makes more interesting reading 🙂 hope you have a good week too 🙂

Leave a Reply

