Booking Through Thursday – Recommendation

5 Apr

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Bookish Sarah asks:

If someone asked you for a book recommendation, what is the FIRST book you’d think to recommend (without extra thought)?

This question was actually easy for me as soon as i had read the question a book popped into my head.

This book was Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golding. I picked this book up back in the summer of 2010 and it sat on my shelf for a good few months before i picked it up. I kept putting it off thinking that i wouldnt like it or get into it and it wasnt really my thing.

I was so wrong. This book is now one of my favourite books of all time. I am hooked on the story and it is so beautiful too. Its such a good book that everyone should read it. I may even have to re-read it again soon!

20 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Recommendation”

  1. gautami tripathy April 5, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    I have been wanting to read that book. Will do so soon. Thanks!

    Here is my BTT post!

  2. Vicki April 5, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    My answer is a book I read 23 years ago. It’s still one of my favorites.
    Here’s My BTT

  3. Beth April 5, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    I thought about that one, too! Here’s my BTT: http://toofond.wordpress.com/2012/04/05/booking-through-thursday-recommendation/

  4. mary Ann Langan April 5, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    I read this book awhile ago and enjoyed it very much.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/04/booking-through-thursday.html

  5. laurelrainsnow April 5, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    I haven’t read that one, but I’ve heard good things about it.

    My answers vary, depending on when you ask them, but here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  6. Michael April 5, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Hmmmmm…not necessarily my usual choice of book, but I’ve heard so many good things about it.

    I may have to add it to my TBR pile.

    • shelovestoread April 6, 2012 at 9:39 am #

      It wasnt my choice of book either, but i ended up loving it 🙂

  7. Reading Kelly April 5, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    Memoirs of a Geisha is a great book! See my recommendation here
    Happy reading!

  8. mostraum April 5, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    Yes, it’s a great book.
    I had a hard time with this question: http://bloggbib.net/Tanz/?p=3849

  9. DawnTreader April 7, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    Never read that one. Maybe I should add it to my list 😉
    Here’s mine

  10. katybrandes April 10, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    Your suggestion has made me reconsider one I’ve had on my “tbr” shelf for a long time. Mine is, and forever will be, To Kill a Mockingbird. It should be required reading for students I think.

    Love this meme and will have to start participating in it.

    • shelovestoread April 10, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      oh i didnt think of that one, i love that book, one of my favourites! I love the meme too, one of my favourites 🙂

Leave a Reply

