Books – the book or the movie?

13 Apr

Now I am going to come out with a confession, I am a bookworm. (I didnt say it would be a new one hehe) and i am always having big debates with people that arent so into books.

Guy at work: I went to see The Hunger Games last night.

Me: Oh i want to see that, i just want to hold off untilΒ  i have read the book first.

Guy at work: Oh that was quick, they must have brought the book out very soon after the movie.

Me: No! It was a book first!

Guy at work: Really? I just thought it was a new film.

So begins the eye rolling on my part. How can somebody not know about one of the most talked about books over the last year? So here is my question. Film of the book. Would you see the film of the book if you havent already read the book?

Now me personally i have held off watching so many films because i havent yet read the books first.

  • The Hunger Games
  • Water For Elephants
  • Warhorse
  • Dear John

I never want to really ruin the plot of a book so the movie always comes last for me, the only exeption is Twilight. I have watched the films but not read the books.

So, what about you?

8 Responses to “Books – the book or the movie?”

  1. Caroline April 14, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    Interesting. I made sure I finished The Hunger Games series before I saw it. That’s funny that you haven’t read the Twilight series, but have seen the movies. I may see the movie before reading the book, but I’m like you I normally read it first since the book is normally better.

    • shelovestoread April 14, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

      I need to read The Hunger Games, I’ve just not got around to it yet. I wasnt very keen on twilight when i heard of it as it was to hyped up by people. Now that a lot of the hype is dying down i will read it soon. πŸ™‚

  2. yawriterinthemaking April 14, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    Most of the time, I’d rather read the book than see the movie. However, if I really like a book and it is made into a movie, then I will see it. Example: Harry Potter ❀

    • shelovestoread April 14, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

      yay another Harry Potter fan. I do normally struggle when i watch the film of the book as it sometimes doesnt follow the book!

  3. beckyday6 April 14, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    I usually try to read the book before I see the movie because I always think the story should be seen/read in it’s original form, how it was meant to be. But a lot of the time I accidentally end up seeing the movie, not knowing that it was originally a book. It’s very irritating! But yeah, always the book first, if possible. πŸ™‚
    Ohh and the guy at work? HORRIFYING! Haha.

    • shelovestoread April 14, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

      Thats the same arguement as me hehe. I have done that before, seen the movie before reading the book and been a bit disappointed.

      oh and the guy? still not speaking to him! πŸ˜›

  4. Briana April 15, 2012 at 3:49 am #

    I usually want to read the book first. The books tend to be better, and I wouldn’t want them to be spoiled by a sub-par film! There could be exceptions, though. I’ve been wanting to read All Quiet on the Western Front for years and just never have. So in this case I might as well watch the movie because a decade could pass before I read the book! I also wasn’t aware Warhorse was a book at the time I saw the movie. I think that’s a little more excusable than not knowing The Hunger Games is a book, though. πŸ˜‰

    • shelovestoread April 16, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

      I always say never judge a book by its movie as sometimes it can be awful. I really dont know how he didnt know the hunger games was a book though!

Leave a Reply

