Its Monday! What are you Reading? 16th April

16 Apr

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held over on Book Journey. Its a great meme for book lovers and bloggers to discuss there week in reading.

Books Read

Over the last week i read one book. This was Strike Back by Chris Ryan. I have been after reading one of his books for a long time as i had heard good things about this author. This book was brilliant. I really enjoyed how fast paced it was and how many different twists and turns there are in this book. I have added some of his books to my wishlist now. I cant wait to read more.

Reading Now

In book form i am currently reading The Fifth Child by Doris Lessing. This is the book for the reading circle on the BCF. I am enjoying the book so far but its not my usual genre. I do think the story is all going to unravel soon though.

On my kindle I’m still reading Joanna’s Day by Stephen and Toni Downs. This is another freebie that  i downloaded. I am still having trouble getting into this book and i dont really think this book is for me 😦

 

 

Next Up

Next up off my huge TBR pile is The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult. I was going to read this one a couple of weeks ago but needed to read the book for the reading circle first! I absolutely adore her books and am trying to read all of her books. This is one of the books that i havent yet read, i cant wait to get around to it!

SynopsisFourteen-year-old Trixie Stone has felt like a ghost for fourteen days, seven hours and thirty-six minutes. Her overprotective father tried to shield her from life’s perils – but even he had never imagined what could happen to her.

Raised as the only white boy in an Eskimo village, teased mercilessly for being different, comic book artist Daniel Stone thought he had put the pain and violence of his past behind him when he reinvented himself as a family man.

Could the boy who once made his daughter’s face fill with light have drugged and raped her? Trixie says he did, and that is all it takes to make her father consider taking matters into his own hands. He would go to hell and back for his daughter’s sake .

Books Brought

I brought one book in the last week William Walkers First Year of Marriage by Matt Rudd. I added this to my wishlist a little while ago and i think it sounds good!

SynopsisFor anyone who has ever dreamed of finding true love only to discover that happy endings are just the beginning comes this brilliantly comic novel about marriage, ex-girlfriends, ‘performance anxiety’, and what it takes to make happily ever last beyond the honeymoon.

William is a happy man. He has just married Isabel, the girl of his dreams, and is confidently sailing along on a sea of wedded bliss. He’s got a hot wife, a snazzy new job and things couldn’t be much better. Sure, there are a few bumps in the road, but life on the whole is good.

That is until Isabel’s ‘best friend’ Alex starts to intrude on their wedded bliss. And when William’s ex-girlfriend Saskia – aka the ‘Destroyer of Relationships’ – appears on the scene, things go from bad to worse. For marriage, William quickly discovers, has its own set of rules. And while falling in love is easy, staying in love can be a whole lot trickier…

Witty, irreverent and laugh-out-loud funny, “William Walker’s First Year of Marriage: A Horror Story” is the perfect novel for anyone who has ever wanted to know what the person they’re facing at the altar is REALLY thinking – and been rightly afraid to ask.

So, What are you Reading?

6 Responses to “Its Monday! What are you Reading? 16th April”

  1. Leeswammes April 16, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    The Marriage book sounds good, indeed. I love fun stories like that. It reminds me a bit of Mike Gayle, who also writes funny books for men, that can also be enjoyed by women.

    Happy reading!

    • shelovestoread April 17, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      It does indeed sound good, a fun little story. I havent heard of Mike Gayle, ill have to look him up 🙂

  2. Brunette Librarian April 17, 2012 at 3:37 am #

    Jodi Picoult is deep – I’m working on Keeping Faith.

    Happy reading this week!

    It’s Monday! What are you reading at the Brunette Librarian!

    • shelovestoread April 17, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

      Thank you! same to you. I love her books i always get sucked into them. I have keeing faith on my shelf, i hope its good 🙂

  3. Lindsey April 17, 2012 at 3:54 am #

    William Walker’s First Year of Marriage sounds good. There are not too many books about those first years of marriage, are there?
    Have a great week!

    • shelovestoread April 17, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      I’ve read a couple written by women, but not a man. I think this one might be good 🙂

Leave a Reply

