My Crazy Reading System

17 Apr

I got an idea for this post from Sheila over at Book Journey. Sheila posted earlier in the week about how her and others choose their next book and this has inspired me to write about My Crazy Reading System.

Currently i dont just have one TBR shelf i have 5 shelves, 1 pile next to my bed and three boxes of books under my bed. Thats alotta books. I also have 100 e-books on my Kindle. My TBR pile stands currently on 358 books. Yes 358 books! I never imagined my book buying would get so out of control.

I envy people that only have 10 or so books to read. I dont use the library as i know if i did i would never read my own books. This year i was trying to get the pile down, but all i have done is let it grow and grow.

So back to my crazy reading system. I buy a book, lets call itΒ  Book. Book starts off on the bottom of the pile of books. He then works his way to the top of the pile. When he reaches the top he goes on to TBR shelf 5 and moves along that. Then to shelf 4. Then to 3, then to 2, then finally to 1. Once Book reaches the top of the whole TBR i then will read it.

So i know what you are thinking. can anyone be anymore weird about their books? Well probably not. The reasons i do that is because i am weird. I like to read my books in the order i brought them. I also do this because i dont honestly think i would read the books that i already own if i didnt.

I do the same on my kindle. I read the oldest book i have downloaded too. I guess i am just a bit weird really. I know this has its flaws. it means that i dont get to read the books i buy at the minute for another couple of years. This does upset me a little, but there are several others that i want to read before them too so its not too bad.

The exceptions to this rule are books i get sent for review. I dont get many, 😦  ,only 4 or 5 a year maybe or books for reading circles or  book rings.

I am slowly trying to reduce my TBR to a smaller amount. Hopefully i will succeed eventually.

So, do you have any reading systems?

21 Responses to “My Crazy Reading System”

  1. beckyday6 April 17, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Haha I love it! It’s so crazy that it makes perfect sense. I should probably do that too. There are some books I’ve had for years but just never feel like reading. Trouble is, I’m sort of an impulsive reader, I just want to read whatever takes my fancy that day. πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread April 17, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

      lol it almost goes full circle doesnt it! Id love to be an impulsive reader like you but im so indecisive id spend more time trying to choose what to read than actually reading! πŸ™‚

  2. cricketmuse April 17, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    You are definitely a Book Booster. Come on by and sign up. I got tired of moving my books and just go to the library now and file my TBRs on GoodRead. I start panicking when I get my advance warnings from the library to return my books and I haven’t started them yet. Too many books and not enough time!!!
    Happy Pages,
    CricketMuse

    • shelovestoread April 17, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

      I’ve just popped across to your blog and signed up! great blog btw! I’d love to be able to use the library but for me its a couple of years off yet! I also use goodreads its a fantastic tool πŸ™‚

      • cricketmuse April 18, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

        Thanks for stopping by and signing up. I will be popping in on your blog and will look into Book Journey.
        Happy Pages,
        CricketMuse

  3. meganm922 April 17, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    I don’t think that’s a crazy system. It makes sense and is surprisingly organized. You are never going to read a new book before an older one, which is probably good. The only think I find a bit crazy is that you have quite that many books to read! haha. It’s crucial that I keep my TBR shelf as small as possible, otherwise I get really overwhelmed. My pile is never bigger than 10 books and I refuse to buy a book until I get it down to 5. Reading is like a domino effect for me. If I read a book and love it, I’ll want to read similar books. So if i owned, say.. 20 books I haven’t read and I read one book that i love and the other 19 are not similar in any way, I’ll just want to go to the store and buy books. So I keep my TBR shelf small so that way I can kind of control how many books i have.
    But that’s a wonderful system you have and I love how organized it is.

    • shelovestoread April 17, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

      Thanks πŸ™‚ I have a huge ammount of books to be read, only a couple of years ago did i have a tbr pile simular to yours. I went a bit mad and brought a lot of books very quickly and now its a bit of a habit to break! happy reading πŸ™‚

  4. Sheila (Book Journey) April 17, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    It sounds good I just know I am not disciplined enough to do it πŸ˜‰ I would grab from… hmmmm…. the middle!

    • shelovestoread April 19, 2012 at 7:47 am #

      hehe I’m so indicisive though, i would spend more time deciding what to read than actually reading!

  5. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out April 18, 2012 at 4:38 am #

    I think thats a pretty sensible system! Most of my reading now is done to deadlines for review so my personal TBR shelf keeps growing without anything getting read LOL

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

      Lol! Id love to start reading for review, but i think i would end up like you and not read my own books!

  6. ocdreader April 18, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    My TBR is out of control as well. The problem is I have some wonderful used bookstores around me and for a while I was going almost weekly, my thought was, buy it now or it will be gone, it is only $2 or whatever. Sooo, I have no order, I put everything in my shelves in author order and impulsively choose something. (It does sometimes take a long time to choose a book though, but I find that part of the fun!) Though lately I have been reading bookclub choices or review books so my TBR is looming…I have been cutting down the bookstore visits, but then there is that kindle and those amazon the freebies…

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

      I’ve banned myself from the second hand book shop until i get under 100 books. I just really need to cut the ammount of books down that i buy! I also am a person that cannot stay away from the kindle freebies, i probably add about 10 or so a week!

      • ocdreader April 23, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

        I just need a nice long vacation!! Maybe a year or two and I could catch up. πŸ™‚ LOL

  7. Elsi April 19, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Oh my! Two things that jump out at me. First is the physical arrangement of your books. I have 2 bookcases in my den. One is full (2 layers deep) of TBR books; let’s say 100 books. The other has mostly books which I owe to other readers that I have promised through book swaps — primarily at BookObsessed, but also through PBS and BookMooch. The books offered at BookObsessed tend to be TBRs, while I only offer already read books at PBS and BookMooch. So, I mentally tag this bookshelf as the “owed TBR” shelves, and it has about 75 books in it. In my front parlor, I have stacks and stacks of TBR books — somewhere near 150 books. In my guest bedroom, I have another set of stacks of TBR books — about 100 books. And my KINDLE? Presently there are 1321 books on the Kindle, and there are another 767 archived items in my account. Now when it comes to the Kindle, I have been quick to pick up free books, particularly well-rated books by independent authors.

    The second part that jumps out at me is how you select the next book you will read. I read by mood. Sometimes I’m in the mood for a paranormal romance. Sometimes I’m in the mood for a cozy mystery. I have plenty of genres and styles to choose from. When I’ve read a book that I particularly enjoy, I’m likely to want to read another book in the same series or by the same author — and I’ve been known to read straight through a series as fast as I can. The other way in which I select a book to read is based on the due date for owed TBRs. I keep a file arranged by the required mailing date and when it’s time to select another book to read, I’ll take one from near the top of the list. It’s not always the top book since as I said, I read by mood!

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

      wow! you have so many kindle books! i also love reading books by independant authors there are so many more out there that i just know are going to be brilliant. id love to choose by mood. You seem so organised, im very jelous! πŸ™‚

      • Elsi April 25, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

        Hmmm… interesting. I thought that comment had disappeared into the Internet at large, which is why I posted the one below! Sorry for the comment clutter.

  8. Elsi April 19, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Reading this post, there are two things that jump out at me. The first is the physical location of your books and the second is how you select the next book that you will read. Like you, I have books in several places through my house and those places are related to how soon I will be reading a given book. When it comes time to read a book, I’m mostly driven by my mood. I’ve written a lot more about these over at Reading in Texas. Thanks for motivating me!

  9. Jenn April 22, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    My husband reads his books in exactly the same way, in the order he got them. I never knew there was someone else out there with the same system!

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

      hehe! i didnt know there was another person like me! Glad to know im not alone in it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

