Booking Through Thursday – Pet Peeves

19 Apr

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Bookish Sarah asks:

What are your literary “pet peeves”?

I actually posted one of these peeves on my blog just the other day! I really really hate it when a new movie comes out and then people find out that a book also exists and assume that book is a copy of the movie.

This happened to me at work just the other day. A guy i work with said he had been to see The Hunger Games and i asked if he had read the book. He looked at me and said ‘why do authors rip off the movies by bringing a book out?’ I was shocked. How could someone not know that it was based on a book? But sadly this is something i come across a lot. It’s very unfortunate that a lot of people don’t realise that a lot of movies and TV shows are based on books and not the other way round.

I also don’t like book snobs. Those people who look down their noses at you when you read Young Adult or Chick lit. I think everyone should read what they like and the world would be very boring if everyone read the same books.

43 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Pet Peeves”

  1. Gigi Ann April 19, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    Oh! That is a good one. I love reading the books first before seeing the movies. And I also agree about book snobs.

  2. Reading Kelly April 19, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    The book almost always comes before the movie silly people! And people should not be snobby about books, everyone has their preferences.
    You can see my pet peeves here

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

      I dont think ive come across it the other way round, thinking about it 🙂

  3. Elizabeth Baxter (@smallblondhippy) April 19, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    What? People seriously think movies come first? Oh dear. I hate how movies often change books. My pet peeves are here: http://elizabethbaxter.blogspot.com

  4. Edwards Granddaughter April 19, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    Movies ruin great books. It always saddens me when they are compared. my peeves: http://edwardsgranddaugther.blogspot.com/2012/04/reviewing-how-to-live-and-not-die-as-i.html

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

      books and movies are very different things i think

  5. MoniqueReads April 19, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    I have never heard of someone thinking that an author ripped off a movie. I encounter people that don’t know a certain movie is based off a book. But that is all.

  6. cherylmash April 19, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    Book snobs..never thought of that one. Good point.

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

      thanks, book snobs can be really horrible at times 😦

  7. Beth April 19, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    I’m with you on book snobs–hate that! A book can mean so many different things to different people, and genre is not an indicator of quality.

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

      exaclty my point 🙂 books are brilliant no matter what you read 🙂

  8. Cathy April 19, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    You are completely right, book snobs annoy me. I like my books, who cares if I’m not a YA I don’t have to be 🙂 That also upsets me too when people don’t know it’s based on a book. Yeah sometimes I don’t know all movies because I don’t know all books but i know what you mean. Here’s my BTT
    Thanks
    Cathy @ Addicted to Books

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

      glad you know what i mean 🙂 i love young adult no matter what 🙂

  9. laurelrainsnow April 19, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    I don’t like book snobbery, either; I have my preferences and others have theirs. Sometimes we can expand our horizons and read other genres to see why others like those books. That’s why I enjoy book challenges….

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

      i have read so many good books because of book challenges 🙂

  10. gautami tripathy April 19, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    I totally get you!

    Here is my BTT post!

  11. Lydia April 19, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Amen sister!

  12. Shenell April 19, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Looks like we have some pet peeves in common! Here is mine: http://agreatescapebookblog.blogspot.com/2012/04/booking-through-thursday-3.html

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      just had a look at your post and indeed we do 🙂

  13. mary Ann Langan April 19, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    I don’t care for book snobs either.

  14. Melinda April 19, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    Love this pet peeve! As a teacher, I try to show my students that the book is always better! 🙂

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

      YAY 😀 so pleased that you agree and hopefully the children do too 😀

  15. Juli @ A Universe in Words April 19, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    Totally agree, especially because books have so much more detail than movies, so if you’re a fan you should be happy there is a book! Hop on over if you have the time:
    http://universeinwords.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/booking-through-thursday.html
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      a book is your own interpretation, a movie is someone elses!

  16. Alison April 19, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    I hate book snobs too. They’re so frustrating!

  17. Tempeste O'Riley April 19, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    Ignorant. But even if the book was based on the movie, who cares? It’s not as if the author is stealing the material but it’s even worse in the case you mention because an adult should know better! Most of the time it’s book then movie/tv series . . . to think otherwise is nuts.

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      i wouldnt go as far as to say ingnorant, but maybe a little more reading is needed hehe

      • Tempeste O'Riley April 24, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

        Ignorant as in uneducated on the topic, not as in an insult. Most who make such comments don’t seem to know better, sadly. More reading is needed! :c)

  18. Just Another Teenage Bookworm April 19, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more.
    My BTT.

  19. cricketmuse April 20, 2012 at 1:42 am #

    It is sad when people don’t realize the book usually inspires the movie. My one hope is that the movie inspires them to read the book.
    Happy Pages,
    CricketMuse

  20. wcs53 April 20, 2012 at 3:05 am #

    Wow! Almost unbelievable that someone didn’t know that the Hunger Games was based on a book, but nothing surprises me these days! My BTT;
    http://wcs53.wordpress.com/2012/04/19/booking-through-thursday-pet-peeves-april-19/

  21. ocdreader April 21, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    Hear hear! Well said, those both irritate me a bunch as well. And I can’t believe how many people don’t read! I think I turn my nose down at them. 🙂

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      i dont actually know what i would do without books in my life, go mad or something hehe 🙂

Leave a Reply

