Booking Through Thursday – Changes

26 Apr

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Two people asked a similar question:

Charlie Quillen asks:

Has a book ever inspired you to change anything in your life, fiction or non-fiction alike?

Lindsay asks:

There have been books I loved, books that I fell in love with, and books that changed my life, and they’re not always the same nor mutually exclusive.

I have read many a book that has inspired me to do things. I loved To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. This book inspired me by making me realise you shouldnt judge people by their appearance and you should never judge people by what others tell you.

The main message i get from books is how very lucky i am. The two books i have in mind are on a similar theme. The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne. Now while these books are on ‘different sides’ of the war, they both made me realise how very lucky i am. I do have problems, but nowhere near as much as people living during the second world war.

21 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Changes”

  1. Aspen @ Inner Aspen April 26, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    I also loved To Kill A Mockingbird. Such a great novel 🙂 and I think that keeping in mind how lucky we are is a wonderful thing to not take for granted. I have not read The Boy in the Striped Pajamas but I have the same opinion regarding The Diary of Anne Frank. Have a wonderful Thursday!
    Here’s my response if you have time to hop on over!

    http://inner-aspen.blogspot.com/2012/04/booking-through-thursday-changes.html

    • shelovestoread April 27, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

      Its a beautiful book i must read it again soon! The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is good, but so very sad. I’m going to pop over and have a look at yours 🙂

  2. Elizabeth Baxter (@smallblondhippy) April 26, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Absolutely. Books are so often a form of social commentary, making us think about our society and the way we live. I remember when I first read Dickens being so grateful I didn’t live in Victorian times!
    Here’s mine: http://elizabethbaxter.blogspot.com

    • shelovestoread April 27, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

      I know what you mean, i do wonder if people will look back 100 years from now and look at our history!

  3. Cathy April 26, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Really great answer. Here’s my btt

  4. mostraum April 26, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Great examples. Books are great for making you think.

    • shelovestoread April 27, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

      Indeed they are, one of the good things about books 🙂

  5. laurelrainsnow April 26, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I loved To Kill a Mockingbird…and do want to read The Boy in the Striped Pajamas…books definitely change my view of the world, depending on which ones I read.

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

    • shelovestoread April 27, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

      I love love love To Kill a Mockingbird, but do read The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, but it is very sad 😦

  6. Megan Monell April 26, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    Great answer. I love books that give me insight into another person’s struggle. It definitely makes me thankful!

  7. BermudaOnion April 26, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    I think every book changes us just a little bit.

    • shelovestoread April 27, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

      I think it does, whether we are aware or not 🙂

  8. Michael April 26, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    Another interesting book along the lines of Anne Frank or Pajamas is The Book Thief.

    • shelovestoread April 27, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

      I have that book on my wishlist, but havent got around to buying it yet, maybe i should 🙂

  9. katybrandes April 26, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    I also loved “To Kill a Mockingbird,” which inspired my son’s name, but it runs a close tie with “Night” by Elie Weisel.

    My entry is at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/booking-through-thursday-changes/.

    • shelovestoread April 27, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      wow great choice for a name 🙂 I have Night on my TBR but havent yet got around to it 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Booking Through Thursday – Changes | katy brandes writes - April 26, 2012

    […] by: shelovestoread on: April 26, 2012 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

