The Tenth Circle – Jodi Picoult

27 Apr

Started – 17/4/12

Finished – 26/4/12

Format – Paperback Book

 

Synopsis – When Daniel Stone was a child, he was the only white boy in a native Eskimo village where his mother taught, and he was teased mercilessly because he was different. He fought back, the baddest of the bad kids: stealing, drinking, robbing and cheating his way out of the Alaskan bush – where he honed his artistic talent, fell in love with a girl and got her pregnant. To become part of a family, he reinvented himself – jettisoning all that anger to become a docile, devoted husband and father. Fifteen years later, when we meet Daniel again, he is a comic book artist. His wife teaches Dante’s Inferno at a local college; his daughter, Trixie, is the light of his life – and a girl who only knows her father as the even-tempered, mild-mannered man he has been her whole life. Until, that is, she is date raped… and Daniel finds himself struggling, again, with a powerlessness and a rage that may not just swallow him whole, but destroy his family and his future.

 

My Thoughts – I absolutly adore Jodi Picoults books, for me they never fail to disappoint and always hook me in. The Tenth Circle was no different.

 

This book tells the story of Trixie a typical teenage girl in America and her parents Daniel and Laura. Throw in the fact that Trixie and her boyfriend have just split up and its almost a perfect opening to a story.

 

Trixie sneaks out to a party at her best friends house and its here that one single event changes the life of all the characters in the story. I dont really want to say what that event is as i dont want to spoil the plot of the book.

 

I love how the story is told from different perspectives and at times i had trouble trying to figure out who was telling the truth and who was lying. Alot off things in the book were truthfully acurate like the legal parts and the hospital parts. Although these parts made quite difficult reading, it really made me want to read more.

 

I liked the comic book aspect to the book, this made a change to the normal books of just prose and it broke the story up but in a good way. I liked how it weaved really companies into the story like Marvel and DC Comics.

 

I also liked all of the twists and turns i ended up re-reading certain parts of it in shock, i couldnt believe that parts of it had happened.

 

I loved this book a lot. I’m finding it really difficult to write my thoughts on this as its such a brilliant book, i just think if you havent read it then do.

Rating – 5/5

2 Responses to “The Tenth Circle – Jodi Picoult”

  1. beckyday6 April 27, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    I saw a low budget film version of this book, it kept me guessing and I liked that aspect of it. I hope to read to book at some point too, after all, I always prefer the books to the films and usually try and read them first!
    Nice review 🙂

    • shelovestoread April 27, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      thanks 🙂 the book is pretty simular in that aspect then to the film, but the book is very good 🙂

Leave a Reply

