Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (14th May)

14 May

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held on Book Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

Books Read

Over the last week i finished one book, Apocalypse Cow by Michael Logan. This book is a slightly zombie book, and is basically about a virus being released on Britain’s wildlife. This book is so so so good, its not my usual genre that i love, but this was fantastic. A highly recommended book.

Reading Now

In book form I’m currently reading Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. This is my first read of this popular series as when it came out i was put off by all of the hype surrounding it. I am actually quite disappointed that i didnt read it sooner. I am loving this book, the only downside i have is i have already seen the film so i do know what is going to happen.

On my kindle I’m currently reading Ellie Foster’s English Coursework by Tina Orr Monro. I downloaded this as it was free for a day on amazon and it is very enjoyable. It takes the form of a teenage girls diary, its been compared to The Diary of Adrian Mole by some, and its a really good YA book! I was reading this book this time last week, but i havent had much kindle time over the last week.

Next up

Next up is a book off my huge TBR pile, The Difference a Day Makes by Carole Matthews. This author is one of my favourites and her books never fail to disappoint. I’m really looking forward to this book.

Synopsis William and Amy Ashurst are typical townies, dedicated professionals at the top of their tree, with two adorable children and an au pair who cooks, cleans and cares for them all. Then one day Will collapses on his way into work and he decides he’s never going back.

So it is that, three months later, Amy is standing outside Helmshill Grange, a sullen monstrosity of a house, deep in the Yorkshire moors, with their own land as far as the eye can see. It’s what William says he’s always wanted, which is slightly worrying as he couldn’t be bothered to do his own gardening in Notting Hill, and would rather pick up a book than a spade. Within days, Will’s traded in their brand new Audi for a clapped out Land Rover, and brought home chickens, goats, sheep, a serial-killer cat and a mad dog. Then tragedy strikes and Amy learns that it’s one thing living the dream, but when the dream’s not your own, how long can it last?

Books Brought

I didnt buy any books this week, but i did download some freebies.

 

So, What are you reading this week?

10 Responses to “Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (14th May)”

  1. bluestockingbb May 14, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    I think Twlight was really the only book of the series that I liked.

    Here is mine

    • shelovestoread May 15, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      I’m really enjoying twilight, but i hope i enjoy them all 🙂

  2. Sheila (Book Journey) May 14, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    LOL… I think I need to read Apocalypse Cow!!!

    • shelovestoread May 15, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      its such a good book, give it a go 🙂 it had me laughing out loud at times 🙂

  3. Kathy Martin May 14, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    The Twilight series is all right. I really think the first book was the best. The Difference a Day Makes sounds interesting but it would be completely out of the genres I usually read. I don’t think that I am up to that sort of challenge at this point in my school year. This is the time of year I look for comfort reads. Here is my Monday Report. Happy reading!

    • shelovestoread May 15, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      Two or three people have said that the first is the best but i hope i enjoy them all but we will see. I dont read all that much chick lit, but i am looking forward to reading this one 🙂

  4. Tanya Patrice May 15, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    Same here – Apocalypse Cow is now a book tha I must read -because that title is just begging to be read 🙂

  5. cricketmuse May 15, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    I am in the middle og Jasper Fforde’s Shades of Grey which not THE 50 Shades of Grey (which I won’t be reading). This is about a dystopian society satirizing societal values, as only Fforde can do, using color as it’s platform. He’s the brilliance behind the Thursday Next series.

    • shelovestoread May 15, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      I wont be reading the 50 shades of grey! I know what it is about now and definitaly wont be picking that up! I really want to read the other Shades of Grey and the thursday next series, glad they come so highly recommended 🙂

Leave a Reply

