Does Size Matter? (books)

15 May

Now, before you all turn away in shock and horror, or maybe go all giggly, this is about books and nothing else. My question today is Does size matter when choosing a book?

Now what made me think this was I’ve got Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell on my TBR. I really want to read this book, but the sheer size of this book is putting me off a little bit. Now its the same on my Kindle, if i see a lot of little dots this also put me off a little.

I do sometimes like to pick up a little book, but sometimes these take me even longer to read than the bigger books.

I am trying to change my ways a little by trying to read the big books, but sometimes its a bit of a struggle.

So, does size matter to you?

16 Responses to “Does Size Matter? (books)”

  1. ocdreader May 15, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    YES! I have Gone with the Wind, Thorn Birds and Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (among others) to read as well and I just can’t bring myself to open them up! The kindle is the worst because if I read 5 or more pages and the percent doesn’t change it kills me! I really think part of it is the pressure of the book review blog. I feel like I need to read stuff quickly so I can have new content on my blog regularly. Also, so many of the PNR or UF books I love and read all the time can be so quick that I am getting lazy I guess. Not too good, really. How can we retrain our brains?

    • shelovestoread May 16, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

      I have the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo aswell, and thats another one thats huge. I know what you mean about the kindle too, sometimes it is so frustrating! I never used to worry how quick i read until i blogged and some people seem to read a book a day and i want to keep up with them hehe! I know what we need to do, give up everything else apart from reading 😀

      • ocdreader May 16, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

        I wish! When I was out of work I read like a maniac…but, sadly, I can’t find anyone to pay me to read yet. 😦

  2. beckyday6 May 15, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    Yes it definitely does to me, although not so much in the way you’ve mentioned. I’m not particularly turned off by big books, although like ocd reader’s mentioned – I do get a little deflated when I keep reading and never seem to get any further in the book! But usually I see a big book as a positive. 🙂 Size matters more to me when it’s a small book, it means that I am less likely to buy it, just because I feel like I’m not getting my money’s worth as their aren’t as many pages e.g. To Kill A Mockingbird or The Great Gatsby.
    It doesn’t put me off reading them, it just puts me off buying them 😛

    • shelovestoread May 16, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

      I think size matters when you have finished the book, its a bit of an acomplishment at times. I see what you mean about the smaller books, if i am enjoying one i want it to go on and on!

  3. Story Addict May 15, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    To me, it doesn’t. But I would rather read a rich, lengthy book than a shallow but short one. Game of Thrones was long, but I loved every page of it. That’s not to say short books can’t be deep, because there are many I do love. What I can’t stand is when authors put in filler just to make their books longer (which is counterintuitive because it works against them anyway).

    • shelovestoread May 16, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      I have the first game of thrones book on my kindle, i didnt realise how long it was, but in a way i am looking forward to reading it. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my favourites and that book isnt too long 🙂 I dont like filler either to the point where it makes me put a book down!

  4. wcs53 May 15, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    That’s a good question. I try to vary the size of my books, but quite often the ones I read are 300 pages or less. One that I’ve had on my TBR and have started bu not finished is ‘In The First Circle’ by Solzhenitsyn. I really want to get it read, but it’s over 700 pages and crammed with lots of Russian names. It’s on one of my challenges for this year, so I think I may take it on holiday with me this summer to try and get it read.

    • shelovestoread May 16, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      My books are like that, i think the average for me is about 400 pages. I havent heard of that book before but ill have to look into it as Russian books really interest me. good luck with trying to get it read 🙂

      • wcs53 May 16, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

        Thanks. It’s actually the first uncensored English edition of a book previously published in censored form as The First Circle. I will get through it!

  5. Megan Monell May 15, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    Size doesn’t matter to me. Longer books don’t scare me or intimidate me and short books aren’t really any easier to read. I just like good books. In some ways, I hate to buy short books because when the price is the same as a 1000 page book I can’t help but think the longer book is more Bang for my buck! Some books are hard to get through regardless of size. The Scarlet Letter is a tiny book, yet it’s so descriptive, it’s easy to trip over. But the George R.R. Martin series… those are all huge and it took me no time to get through them. Just depends more on the content (and age) than the size.

    • shelovestoread May 16, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      i see what you mean, maybe the prices of smaller books should go down a little bit. I have found that sometimes it takes me longer to get through a smaller book if the content isnt so good too. Another person recommending the George RR Martin series, maybe i need to read these asap!

  6. Phil Deane May 15, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    It does matter to me a bit.

    Although I am not put off, I tend to vary size, so if I have read a big book, I follow it with a shorter book.

    If its a great story then I don’t mind the size, but sometimes big books can be bloated. ( Lord of The Rings, is a good read, but in my opinion over bloated with description and songs)

    • shelovestoread May 16, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      I do that too, if i read to many long books it kind of zaps my mojo a bit. I agree with the Lord of the Rings, i did skip a fair bit of the songs etc.

  7. Nicola Billing May 16, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    I agree with the kindle part. Lots of dots and I’m less likely to read it first. But then again I just read the jungle book and it didn’t have many dots but took me a couple of days to read. I think with actual paperbacks the size doesn’t matter as much…

    Just to say hi now that I’ve commented. This is the first post of yours that I’ve read and already commenting (doesn’t normally happen for me) so I will have a look around 🙂

    • shelovestoread May 16, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      I wish i could turn off the dot thing sometimes as i has put me off reading good books in the past!

      hi back 😀 I love comments and replying to them, i hope you enjoy my blog 😀

Leave a Reply

