Booking Through Thursday – Pet Names

24 May

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly bookish meme held over on Booking Through Thursday!

This weeks question asks,

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Lu asks

Do you have any pet that has a name inspired by your readings?

If not, what would you pick if you DID?

Do any of your friends have book-based names for their pets? (Or their children?)

Both my dogs have book inspired names although only one was intentional. My first dog we had we named Sam, just because we liked the name. It wasnt until after we realised that it’s quite a popular name, and is out of my mum’s favourite ever book The Lord of the Rings. The second dog that we got last year was a rescue dog and his name was Pumpkin, but we could change it if we wanted. We needed to change it to something beginning with the letter P, so i really wanted to tie his name in with the other dog, so i chose Pippin. So we have half the hobbits in our house, and for the minute that’s how it will stay!

Now i don’t have any children, but i do like to discuss baby names with my boyfriend, and the only names we seem to agree on its characters from Twilight!

For a girl i like Alice, Rosalie and Isabella and for a boy i like Jasper! However i do love reading character names in books and i can safely say my children will have book inspired names!

12 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Pet Names”

  1. mostraum May 24, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Sam and Pippin, great.
    There’s a little bit of Tolkien in our house too. 🙂

  2. Elizabeth Baxter (@smallblondhippy) May 24, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Yay for hobbit names! Here’s mine: Small Blonde Hippy

    • shelovestoread May 28, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      i want two more animals now, just to have all four!

  3. Cathy De Los Santos (@boriquaz) May 24, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Ha that’s cute, I like your answer. Here’s my BTT

  4. pinkiepieskitchen May 24, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    So cute that you have half of the Hobbits! I just love Pippin for a pooch!

    Here’s mine: http://blueeggbooks.blogspot.com/2012/05/booking-through-thursday_24.html

  5. Reading Kelly May 24, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Pippin is such a cute name for a dog! And I also really like some of the names from Twilight. Check out my BTT here

    • shelovestoread May 28, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      thank you, i really want to name my child after one of the twilight characters!

  6. katybrandes May 24, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    Awww … Samwise!

Leave a Reply

