Booking Through Thursday – DIY

31 May

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly bookish meme held over on Booking Through Thursday!

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Cathy De Los Santos asks:

If you could write a book, what would it be about, and why? (Though, of course, some of you already HAVE.)

It is one of the things on my ultimate to do list to write a book. When i was younger, a lot younger, i used to make up short stories around the Enid Blyton books.

I do have an idea in my head for a story. It’s a young adult book and it’s not about vampires or werewolves. I don’t have anything against these books, but just how many of them are there out there? I’d like to do something different! It would be a modern-day St Claires or Mallory Towers book. Just see how much influence Enid Blyton has had on me!

Hopefully one day I’ll put pen to paper!

16 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – DIY”

  1. laurelrainsnow May 31, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Love your idea, especially the part about creating something unique and not the usual trend that’s going on now. Good luck!

    Here’s MY BTT POST

    • shelovestoread June 1, 2012 at 11:17 am #

      thank you, its something that has been in my head for a while!

  2. Rebecca May 31, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    I hope you get to write your book asap 🙂 Sounds like a great idea and I do agree that there are so many books about werewolves and vampires out there right now! I love Enid Blyton too!

    Here’s my BTT post 🙂
    http://lostinthought-becca.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/booking-through-thursday-1.html

    • shelovestoread June 1, 2012 at 11:18 am #

      thank you, its just finding the time to sit down and get writing it! I do like the vampire books every now and again, just not all the time!

  3. mostraum May 31, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    Like your idea, and I’m so glad you’ll try to avoid the trends.

    • shelovestoread June 1, 2012 at 11:19 am #

      thank you, i think its always good to go away from the trends 🙂

  4. Book Nympho May 31, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    Yeah, I’m the same. And when I was younger I created a spin-off series of the Little House on the Prairie books! Don’t know what happened to it but I’m sure it would be funny to read it now. I hope you get to write a book one day! 🙂

    • shelovestoread June 1, 2012 at 11:19 am #

      I havent yet read the little house books, i cant wait to read them though!

  5. Bev@My Reader's Block May 31, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    That sounds like a great idea! The book world does seem to be flooded with paranormal right now. It’d be nice to see something else out there…go for it!

    Here’s my BTT

    • shelovestoread June 1, 2012 at 11:20 am #

      I do like paranormal every now and again, but sometimes it is too much!

  6. gautami tripathy May 31, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    I loved Enid Blyton books and always ued think about plots! Go ahead, write one!

    Here is my BTT post!

Leave a Reply

