The Virgin Student – Virgin Student

26 Jun

Started – 10/6/12

Finished – 10/6/12

Format – Kindle e-book

 

Synopsis – “I’m a 21-year-old girl at Oxford University and I’ve just finished studying for my BA. Now I have one last mission to complete before I leave university – to lose my virginity.”

The tale of the Virgin Student became internationally renowned after an anonymous student advertised her virginity on the internet and then blogged her progress.

For nineteen days, her blog attracted attention from suitors, well-wishers, mortal enemies and the national press, until the story reached its climactic end, and Virgin Student vanished.

Available as a book for the first time, “The Virgin Student” includes all the charm of the original blog, re-worked and combined with previously unseen content.

My Thoughts – I downloaded this book as i thought that it would be a good book to read. This is a book made up of blog posts, a real blog about a girl who decided that she would loose her virginity by the end of her time at university. An easy feat you might think, but she only gave herself a matter of weeks into which to do it.

How did she find different men to go on dates with? Well she blogged about it and met people that she had met through the blog and also on dating sites. Now for me this i think is brave, as i wouldnt have had the confidence to date people over the internet, but thats down to personal preferance. I really enjoyed her really funny posts about the dates she went on and the people that she met.

It was a very short book, but at the same time it wasnt too short. As it was a book made up of exerpts i dont think it needed to be any longer. Also, its not an explict book. Sure there are sexual parts to the story as you would expect with a book like this, but not overly so.

I also enjoyed how hard she tried to keep her indentity under wraps and how the blog took over her life. This is something that i can identify with, because sometimes it feels like my blog takes over sometimes.

I enjoyed this book, but its not something that i would read again.

Rating – 3/5

9 Responses to “The Virgin Student – Virgin Student”

  1. beckyday6 June 26, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    Wow, what a crazy idea for a book!

  2. cleverpretender June 27, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Oh, this sounds like a fun book to read, I’ll look it up.
    Also, leave aside dating man you meet on the net, I wouldn’t have had the courage to make a blog and advertise about wanting to lose my virginity. ;))

    • shelovestoread June 27, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

      yeah, I’d never be able to do that either! But someone did and we can read all about it, no matter how crazy it sounds! 😛

      • cleverpretender June 28, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

        Respect. Can’t wait to get my hands on this book. 🙂

  3. TBM June 27, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    Interesting idea for a blog and book. Not something I would ever consider, but interesting.

  4. cricketmuse July 3, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    I wonder how well blog posts turned into books do on the market. The Julie/Julia blog book seems to have done well. What other blogs into books are out there?

    • shelovestoread July 4, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

      I’m not sure, this is the first one that I’ve come across and read tbh. I dunno what people would make of this blog if it was turned into a book! hehe 😀

Leave a Reply

